House Chamber, Olympia, Wednesday, May 02, 2001


             The House was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by the Speaker (Representative Morell presiding). The Clerk called the roll and a quorum was present.


             The flag was escorted to the rostrum by a Sergeant at Arms Color Guard, Pages Erin Briggs and Jeffrey Anderson. Prayer was offered by Representative Mary Skinner.


             Reading of the Journal of the previous day was dispensed with and it was ordered to stand approved.


             Speaker Ballard assumed the Chair.



May 1, 2001

Mr. Speakers:


             The Senate has passed:


and the same is herewith transmitted.

Brad Hendrickson, Deputy Secretary


May 2, 2001

Mr. Speakers:


             The President has signed:


and the same is herewith transmitted.

Tony M. Cook, Secretary




             The Speakers signed:





             HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4656, by Representatives Conway, Hunt, Hatfield, Simpson, Veloria, Edmonds, Santos, Armstrong and Campbell


             WHEREAS, Wednesday, April 25th, is the annual Workers' Memorial Day to honor injured workers and families of those workers who have died; and

             WHEREAS, There are 90,000,000 people in 7,000,000 workplaces in the United States and more than 2,000,000 workers in Washington who work hard to support themselves and their families; and

             WHEREAS, The nation's workers represent the backbone of the economy and have made the United States the most prosperous country in the world; and

             WHEREAS, On an average day, 154 workers lose their lives in our country as a result of workplace injuries and illnesses, equivalent to a 737 Jet crash every day; and

             WHEREAS, In 2000, Washington had 81 work-related fatalities, an average of more than one death every week, and 189,000 work-related illnesses and injuries; and

             WHEREAS, The loved ones, friends, and coworkers of workers who lost their lives in the past year, Leby Perez Aguilar, Cristobal Mungia Alejandre, Virgil Almaas, Thaddeus Artz, Robert Asvitt, Frank Babcock, Troy Boyed, David Branco, Madeline Brotherton, Nicholas Calcagno, Janet Carlson, Gary Cavett, Max Chamalbide, Don Clovis, Chadd Coplin, Nathan Creek, David Cruz-Bravo, Alan Davis, Wallace Davis, Pavel Dyachuk, Alberto Enriquez, Jose Francisco Galdamez, Raul Garza, Patrick Gleason, Nelson Grant, Christopher Hagan, Paul Hardin, Marlo Harker, David Harrison, Russell Harry, Ronald Hopkins, Felix Hurley, Michael Ireland, Casey Johnson, Jack Johnson, David Keller, William Kennedy, Yong Su Kim, Royce Klingle, Charles Knudson, Joe Knight, Linda Knight, Brandi Lavalla, Linda Lindberg, Armandon Jaimez Loza, Rufus Martin, William Mauldin, Steven Mikel, Kristin Mills, David Mizer, Carlos Tyson Morales, Huong Nguyen, Brock O'Connor, Yianni Philippides, Terence Prausa, Craig Pulanco, Roy Quan, Jose Rodrigues, Carmen Garfias Ruiz, Kenneth Sanders, Catharine Secor, Allison Shanks, Roman Shidlovsky, Gurdev Singh, Valerie Sivinski, Steven Smith, David Susdorf, Marvin Tarrell, Donovan Thater, Randy Tobin, Nathan Torres, Roger Wangerud, Art Ward, Ervin Wegner, John Wells, Samuel Williams, Wayne Wilmoth, Christopher Womack, David Wright, and Andrew York, suffer untold pain and suffering, and families of those fallen workers, experience economic as well as emotional hardship;

             NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the many millions of workers who have contributed to our country and our state, and honor those who have suffered injuries or who have died on the job; and

             BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to Rick Bender of the Washington State Labor Council for distribution to affiliated and independent members, to Don Brunell of the Association of Washington Business, and Gary Moore of the Department of Labor and Industries.


             House Resolution No. 4656 was adopted.


             HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4657, by Representatives Veloria, Cody and Santos


             WHEREAS, The Washington state legislature recognizes the contributions of individuals who reflect standards of excellence that enhance the well-being and quality of life of the state of Washington; and

             WHEREAS, Among the numerous outstanding residents in Washington state, certain individuals stand out as exemplary models for civil society; and

             WHEREAS, Vivian McLean is one of those exemplary models who lives in the 11th District and is a community activist whose goals center on equality and opportunity for all; and

             WHEREAS, Vivian McLean began serving her community in the 1960s as an active member in both Model Cities and Forward Thrust, working on committees on education, saving open space, and Longfellow Creek; and

             WHEREAS, For nearly four decades, her work includes strong advocacy on the issues of immigrant, housing, and welfare rights, transportation fairness, community economic development, and fighting for living wages for all; and

             WHEREAS, Her volunteer work spans from serving on the Seattle Parks Department Open Space Committee and planning committee for the new Cooper Elementary School to volunteering to get a shoreline trail from Alki to the Duwamish and tutoring middle school students; and

             WHEREAS, Throughout her life, Vivian McLean's obvious and everpresent leadership qualities prompted her colleagues to elect her President of the Seattle Education Association Department of Paraprofessionals, Delridge Community Association, Southwest council; and

             WHEREAS, On May 4, 2001, the Delridge Neighborhood Development Association will be naming a new low-income housing development "Vivian McLean Place" in recognition of her outstanding contributions to her community and throughout Washington;

             NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives acknowledge Vivian McLean and recognize her outstanding work of dedicated service on behalf of the residents of the state of Washington; and

             BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to her family.


             House Resolution No. 4657 was adopted.


             There being no objection, the House advanced to the eleventh order of business.


             There being no objection, the House adjourned until 10:00 a.m., May 3, 2001, 9th Day First Special Legislative Session,


CLYDE BALLARD, Speaker                                                        FRANK CHOPP, Speaker

TIMOTHY A. MARTIN, Chief Clerk                                            CYNTHIA ZEHNDER, Chief Clerk