NOTICE: Formatting and page numbering in this document may be different

from that in the original published version.





Senate Chamber, Olympia, Friday, May 11, 2001

      The Senate was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by President Owen. The Secretary called the roll and announced to the President that all Senators were present except Senators Benton, Brown, Carlson, Constantine, Deccio, Fairley, Finkbeiner, Gardner, Hale, Hargrove, Haugen, Hewitt, Hochstatter, Honeyford, Horn, Johnson, Kastama, Kline, McAuliffe, McDonald, Morton, Oke, Parlette, Patterson, Rasmussen, Sheahan, Stevens, Swecker and Zarelli. On motion of Senator Eide, Senators Brown, Constantine, Fairley, Gardner, Hargrove, Haugen, Kastama, Kline, McAuliffe, Patterson and Rasmussen were excused. On motion of Senator West, Senators Benton, Carlson, Deccio, Finkbeiner, Hale, Hewitt, Hochstatter, Honeyford, Horn, Johnson, McDonald, Morton, Oke, Parlette, Sheahan, Stevens, Swecker and Zarelli were excused.

      The Sergeant at Arms Color Guard, consisting of staff members Mary Kay Hanell and Amy Schenck, presented the Colors. Senator Karen Fraser offered the prayer.


      On motion of Senator Betti Sheldon, the reading of the Journal of the previous day was dispensed with and it was approved.


      At 10:07 a.m., on motion of Senator Betti Sheldon, the Senate adjourned until 12 noon, Monday, May 14, 2001.

BRAD OWEN, President of the Senate

TONY M. COOK, Secretary of the Senate