NOTICE: Formatting and page numbering in this document may be different

from that in the original published version.





House Chamber, Olympia, Tuesday, March 25, 2003

             The House was called to order at 9:55 a.m. by the Speaker (Representative Lovick presiding).

             Reading of the Journal of the previous day was dispensed with and it was ordered to stand approved.

             The Speaker (Representative Lovick presiding) called upon Representative Grant to preside.

             There being no objection, the House advanced to the sixth order of business.

             There being no objection, all the bills on the Second Reading calendar were referred to the Committee on Rules with the exception of HOUSE BILL NO. 1777 and HOUSE BILL NO. 2198.

             There being no objection, the House advanced to the eighth order of business.

             There being no objection, the Committee on Rules was relieved of HOUSE BILL NO. 1388 and HOUSE BILL NO. 1853, which were placed on the Second Reading calendar.


             HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2003-4641, By Representatives Anderson, Kessler, Nixon, Pflug, Cairnes, Ahern, Alexander, Armstrong, Bailey, Benson, Berkey, Blake, Boldt, Buck, Bush, Campbell, Carrell, Chandler, Chase, Chopp, Clements, Clibborn, Cody, Condotta, Conway, Cooper, Cox, Crouse, Darneille, DeBolt, Delvin, Dickerson, Dunshee, Edwards, Eickmeyer, Ericksen, Flannigan, Fromhold, Gombosky, Grant, Haigh, Hankins, Hatfield, Hinkle, Holmquist, Hudgins, Hunt, Hunter, Jarrett, Kagi, Kenney, Kirby, Kristiansen, Lantz, Linville, Lovick, Mastin, McCoy, McDermott, McDonald, McIntire, McMahan, McMorris, Mielke, Miloscia, Moeller, Morrell, Morris, Murray, Newhouse, O'Brien, Orcutt, Pearson, Pettigrew, Priest, Quall, Roach, Rockefeller, Romero, Ruderman, Santos, Schindler, Schoesler, Schual-Berke, Sehlin, Shabro, Simpson, Skinner, Sommers, Sullivan, Sump, Talcott, Tom, Upthegrove, Veloria, Wallace, Wood and Woods

             WHEREAS, Current international events have resulted in the deployment of American troops to foreign shores; and

             WHEREAS, The many fathers, mothers, sons, daughters, brothers, sisters, husbands, and wives of Washington state who selflessly serve their communities, state, and nation as professional and citizen soldiers exemplify the patriotic love of country through their participation in our country's Armed Forces; and

             WHEREAS, Our military men and women boldly face the difficult challenges confronting them without hesitation and with a deep sense of resoluteness, steadfastness, and duty; and

             WHEREAS, The people of our state and nation rely on the brave and dependable service of our soldiers to defend our freedoms, our security, and our way of life; and

             WHEREAS, All the residents of Washington state, regardless of their degree of support for the foreign policy of any administration, believe in supporting our troops who are engaged in conflict;

             NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the state of Washington express our sincerest gratitude and appreciation to our devoted military personnel who so bravely serve their country and to their families who share in their sacrifices; and

             BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the state of Washington send to those serving our country our hopes, thoughts, and prayers for a safe and speedy return to their loved ones and their country.

             HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4641 was adopted.

             HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2003-4643, By Representatives Kristiansen and Pearson

             WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

             WHEREAS, The integrity, pride, and commitment exemplified by student athletes should stand as a model for their school and community; and

             WHEREAS, The Darrington High School Boys Basketball Team reached the pinnacle of Washington Prep Athletics by concluding the 2003 season as the Class "B" Boys Basketball State Champions; and

             WHEREAS, The Darrington High School Boys Basketball Team fought to a 23-4 record as the Loggers showed their dominance in the Championship game by winning by a score of 64 to 43 in a 19-point victory to defeat league rival and runner-up Shoreline Christian. This victory stands as part of the illustrious history of Darrington Basketball and gave the Loggers their first State Championship since 1957; and

             WHEREAS, These student athletes were given this opportunity to excel from the support and encouragement of their families, school staff, fellow students, and the members of the Darrington community; and

             WHEREAS, Jason Ashe, Bryce Boyd, Lance Chambers, Ryan Frable, Jared Grimmer, Matt Koch, Billy McMillen, Sean O'Connell, Kris Reece, Matt Reece, Evan Smith, and Jake Wicken, members of the Darrington High School Boys Basketball Team, are student athletes who have distinguished themselves with their individual and team excellence, bringing honor to their families, school, community, and state;

             NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives recognize and honor the accomplishments of the Darrington High School Boys Basketball team in becoming 2003 State Champions and congratulate all those who have contributed to this example of excellence; and

             BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Head Coach Jeff Bryson, Athletic Director Beryl Mauldin, and each member of the Darrington High School Boys Basketball Team.

             HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4643 was adopted.

             There being no objection, the House advanced to the eleventh order of business.

             There being no objection, the House adjourned until 10:00 a.m., March 26, 2003, the 73rd Day of the Regular Session.

FRANK CHOPP, Speaker                                                                                  CYNTHIA ZEHNDER, Chief Clerk