PDFRCW 28B.45.012


(1) In 1989, the legislature created five campuses to be operated by the state's two public research universities. Located in growing urban areas, the campuses were charged with two missions:
(a) Increasing access to higher education by focusing on upper-division and graduate programs, targeting placebound students, and operating as models of a two plus two educational system in cooperation with the community colleges; and
(b) Promoting regional economic development by responding to demand for degrees from local businesses and supporting regional economies through research activities.
(2) Fifteen years later, the legislature finds that the campuses are responding to their original mission:
(a) The campuses accounted for half of statewide upper-division and graduate public enrollment growth since 1990;
(b) The campuses have grown steadily and enroll increasing numbers of transfer students each year;
(c) The campuses enroll proportionately more older and part-time students than their main campuses and attract increasing proportions of students from nearby counties;
(d) Although the extent of their impact has not been measured, these campuses positively affect local economies and offer degree programs that roughly correspond with regional occupational projections; and
(e) The capital investments made by the state to support the campuses represent a significant benefit to regional economic development.
(3) However, the legislature also finds the policy landscape in higher education has changed since the original creation of the campuses. Demand for access to baccalaureate and graduate education is increasing rapidly. Economic development efforts increasingly recognize the importance of focusing on local and regional economic clusters and improving collaboration among communities, businesses, and colleges and universities. Each campus has evolved into a unique institution, and it is appropriate to assess the nature of this evolution to ensure the role and mission of each campus is aligned with the state's higher education goals and the needs of the region where the campus is located.
(4) Therefore, it is the legislature's intent to recognize the unique nature of Washington's higher education campuses created under this chapter, reaffirm the role and mission of each, and set the course for their continued future development.
(5) It is the further intent of the legislature that the campuses be identified by the following names: University of Washington Bothell, University of Washington Tacoma, Washington State University Tri-Cities, and Washington State University Vancouver.
[ 2017 c 52 § 4; 2004 c 57 § 1.]