PDFRCW 88.16.010

Board of pilotage commissionersCreatedChairpersonMembersTermsQualificationsVacanciesQuorum.

(1) The board of pilotage commissioners of the state of Washington is hereby created and shall consist of the assistant secretary of marine operations of the department of transportation of the state of Washington, or the assistant secretary's designee who shall be an employee of the marine division, who shall be chairperson, the director of the department of ecology, or the director's designee, and seven members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate. Each of the appointed commissioners shall be appointed for a term of four years from the date of the member's commission. No person shall be eligible for appointment to the board unless that person is at the time of appointment eighteen years of age or over and a citizen of the United States and of the state of Washington. Two of the appointed commissioners shall be pilots licensed under this chapter and actively engaged in piloting upon the waters covered by this chapter for at least three years immediately preceding the time of appointment and while serving on the board. One pilot shall be from the Puget Sound pilotage district and the other pilot shall be from either the Grays Harbor pilotage district or the Puget Sound pilotage district. Two of the appointed commissioners shall be actively engaged in the ownership, operation, or management of deep sea cargo and/or passenger-carrying vessels for at least three years immediately preceding the time of appointment and while serving on the board. One of the shipping commissioners shall be a representative of American and one of foreign shipping. One of the commissioners shall be a representative from a recognized environmental organization concerned with marine waters. The remaining commissioners shall be persons interested in and concerned with pilotage, maritime safety, and marine affairs, with broad experience related to the maritime industry exclusive of experience as either a state licensed pilot or as a shipping representative.
(2) Any vacancy in an appointed position on the board shall be filled by the governor for the remainder of the unfilled term, subject to confirmation by the senate.
(3) Five members of the board shall constitute a quorum. At least one pilot, one shipping representative, and one public member must be present at every meeting. All commissioners and the chairperson shall have a vote.
[ 2008 c 128 § 1; 2003 c 58 § 1; 2001 c 36 § 4; 1991 c 200 § 1001; 1987 c 485 § 1; 1979 ex.s. c 207 § 1; 1977 ex.s. c 337 § 2; 1977 ex.s. c 151 § 73; 1971 ex.s. c 292 § 58; 1935 c 18 § 1; RRS § 9871-1. Prior: 1888 p 175 § 1.]


Effective dates1991 c 200: See RCW 90.56.901.
Severability1977 ex.s. c 337: See note following RCW 88.16.005.
Federal requirements1977 ex.s. c 151: See RCW 47.98.070.
Severability1971 ex.s. c 292: See note following RCW 26.28.010.