- RCW 1.08.001 Statute law committee created—Membership. There is created a permanent statute law committee consisting of eleven members as follows:
 - (1) The secretary of the senate, ex officio;
- (2) Two members of the senate, one from each of the two largest caucuses in the senate, appointed by the president of the senate;
 - (3) The chief clerk of the house of representatives, ex officio;
- (4) Two members of the house of representatives, one from each of the two largest caucuses in the house of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;
- (5) The staff director of the nonpartisan professional committee staff of the senate, ex officio;
- (6) The staff director of the nonpartisan professional committee staff of the house of representatives, ex officio;
- (7) A lawyer admitted to practice in this state, appointed by the board of governors of the Washington State Bar Association;
- (8) A judge of the supreme court or a lawyer who has been admitted to practice in this state, appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court; and
- (9) A lawyer staff member of the governor's office or a state agency, appointed by the governor.
- All such initial appointments shall be made within thirty days of May 11, 2005. [2005 c 409 § 1; 1967 ex.s. c 124 § 1; 1959 c 95 § 1; 1955 c 235 § 1; 1953 c 257 § 1; 1951 c 157 § 1.]
- Effective date—2005 c 409: "This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety, or support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and takes effect immediately [May 11, 2005]." [2005 c 409 § 5.]
- **Severability—1955 c 235:** "If any provision of this act, or its application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the remainder of the act, or the application of the provision to other persons or circumstances is not affected." [1955 c 235 § 10.]