RCW 28B.15.544 Waiver of nonresident tuition fees differential for western undergraduate exchange program students. Subject to the limitations of RCW 28B.15.910, the governing boards of Washington State University, Eastern Washington University, and Central Washington University may waive all or a portion of the difference between fifty percent of the resident tuition and fees amount and the nonresident tuition fees differential for nonresident students who enroll under the western interstate commission for higher education western undergraduate exchange program. [1999 c 344 s 2.]

Findings—Intent—1999 c 344: "The legislature finds that policies that encourage regional planning and access to higher education benefit both the students and the state. Such policies improve access, reduce unnecessary duplication, and make higher education more costeffective. The western undergraduate exchange program, coordinated by the western interstate commission for higher education is a program through which students in participating states may enroll in designated institutions in other participating states at a special, reduced tuition level. During the 1998-99 school year institutions in fifteen western states participated in the western undergraduate exchange program, including Washington's bordering states of Oregon and Idaho. Eastern Washington University participated on a pilot basis. It is the intent of the legislature to permit Washington's institutions of higher education to participate in the western undergraduate exchange program." [1999 c 344 s 1.]