RCW 35.22.245 First-class mayor-council cities-Seven councilmembers. All regular elections in first-class cities having a mayor-council form of government whose charters provide for seven councilmembers, one to be elected from each of six wards and one at large, for a term of two years, and for the election of a mayor, comptroller, treasurer and attorney for two year terms, shall be held biennially as provided in RCW 29A.04.330. The terms of the six councilmembers to be elected by wards shall be four years and until their successors are elected and qualified and the term of the councilmember to be elected at large shall be two years and until their successors are elected and qualified. The terms of the councilmembers shall be so staggered that three ward councilmembers and the councilmember at large shall be elected at each regular election. The term of the mayor, attorney, treasurer, and comptroller shall be four years and until their successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280. [2015 c 53 § 38; 2003 c 111 § 2302. Prior: 1981 c 213 § 4; 1979 ex.s. c 126 § 12; 1965 c 9 § 29.13.024; prior: 1963 c 200 § 3; 1957 c 168 § 2. Formerly RCW 29.13.024.]

Purpose-1979 ex.s. c 126: See RCW 29A.60.280(1).