RCW 35.27.090 Elections—Terms of office. All general municipal elections in towns shall be held biennially in the odd-numbered years as provided in RCW 29A.04.330. The term of office of the mayor and treasurer shall be four years and until their successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with *RCW 29A.20.040: PROVIDED, That the term of the treasurer shall not commence in the same biennium in which the term of the mayor commences. Councilmembers shall be elected for four year terms and until their successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with *RCW 29A.20.040; three at one election and two at the next succeeding biennial election. [2009 c 549 § 2056; 1979 ex.s. c 126 § 23; 1965 c 7 § 35.27.090. Prior: 1963 c 200 § 16; 1961 c 89 § 4; prior: 1955 c 55 § 7; 1943 c 183 § 1, part; 1941 c 91 § 1, part; 1911 c 33 § 1, part; 1903 c 113 § 5, part; 1890 p 198 § 144, part; Rem. Supp. 1943 § 9165, part.]

*Reviser's note: RCW 29A.20.040 was recodified as RCW 29A.60.280 pursuant to 2013 c 11 \S 93.

Purpose—1979 ex.s. c 126: See RCW 29A.60.280(1).