- RCW 42.52.310 Legislative ethics board. (1) The legislative ethics board is created, composed of nine members, selected as follows:
- (a) Two senators, one from each of the two largest caucuses, appointed by the president of the senate;
- (b) Two members of the house of representatives, one from each of the two largest caucuses, appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;
 - (c) Five citizen members:
- (i) One citizen member chosen by the governor from a list of three individuals submitted by each of the four legislative caucuses; and
- (ii) One citizen member selected by three of the four other citizen members of the legislative ethics board.
- (2) Except for initial members and members completing partial terms, nonlegislative members shall serve a single five-year term.
- (3) No more than three of the public members may be identified with the same political party.
- (4) Terms of initial nonlegislative board members shall be staggered as follows: One member shall be appointed to a one-year term; one member shall be appointed to a two-year term; one member shall be appointed to a three-year term; one member shall be appointed to a four-year term; and one member shall be appointed for a five-year term.
- (5) A vacancy on the board shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.
- (6) Legislative members shall serve two-year terms, from January 31st of an odd-numbered year until January 31st of the next odd-numbered year.
- (7) Each member shall serve for the term of his or her appointment and until his or her successor is appointed.
- (8) The citizen members shall annually select a chair from among themselves. [1994 c 154 \$ 201.]