- RCW 44.39.015 Composition—Appointment of members. The committee shall consist of four senators and four representatives who shall be selected biennially as follows:
- (1) The president of the senate shall appoint four members from the senate to serve on the committee, including the chair of the committee responsible for energy issues. Two members from each major political party must be appointed.
- (2) The speaker or co-speakers of the house of representatives shall appoint four members from the house of representatives to serve on the committee, including the chair or co-chairs of the committee responsible for energy issues. Two members from each major political party must be appointed.
- (3) The committee shall elect a chair and a vice chair. The chair shall be a member of the house of representatives in even-numbered years and a member of the senate in odd-numbered years. In the case of a tie in the membership of the house of representatives in an even-numbered year, the committee shall elect co-chairs from the house of representatives in that year. [2001 c 214 § 31; 1977 ex.s. c 328 § 14; 1969 ex.s. c 260 § 2.]

Severability—Effective date—2001 c 214: See notes following RCW 80.50.010.

Findings—2001 c 214: See note following RCW 39.35.010.

Severability—1977 ex.s. c 328: See note following RCW 43.21G.010.