- RCW 53.12.172 Port commissioner terms of office. (1) In every port district the term of office of each port commissioner shall be four years in each port district that is countywide with a population of one hundred thousand or more, or either six or four years in all other port districts as provided in RCW 53.12.175, and until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280.
- (2) The initial port commissioners shall be elected at the same election as when the ballot proposition is submitted to voters authorizing the creation of the port district. If the port district is created the persons elected at this election shall serve as the initial port commission. No primary shall be held. The person receiving the greatest number of votes for commissioner from each commissioner district shall be elected as the commissioner of that district.
- (3) The terms of office of the initial port commissioners shall be staggered as follows in a port district that is countywide with a population of one hundred thousand or more: (a) The two persons who are elected receiving the two greatest numbers of votes shall be elected to four-year terms of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or three-year terms of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280; and (b) the other person who is elected shall be elected to a two-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280.
- (4) The terms of office of the initial port commissioners in all other port districts shall be staggered as follows: (a) The person who is elected receiving the greatest number of votes shall be elected to a six-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or to a five-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280; (b) the person who is elected receiving the next greatest number of votes shall be elected to a four-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or to a three-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280; and (c) the other person who is elected shall be elected to a two-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year, and shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified and assumes office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280.
- (5) The initial port commissioners shall take office immediately after being elected and qualified, but the length of their terms shall be calculated from the first day in January in the year following their elections. [2015 c 53 § 80; 1994 c 223 § 85. Prior: 1992 c 146 § 2; (1992 c 146 § 14 repeal deleted by 1994 c 223 § 93); 1979 ex.s. c 126 § 34; 1951 c 68 § 2; prior: (i) 1935 c 133 § 2; RRS § 9691A-2. (ii) 1935 c 133 § 3; RRS § 9691A-3. (iii) 1935 c 133 § 4; RRS § 9691A-4. (iv) 1935 c 133 § 5; RRS § 9691A-5. (v) 1935 c 133 § 6; RRS § 9691A-6. (vi) 1935 c 133 § 7; RRS § 9691A-7.]

Purpose—1979 ex.s. c 126: See RCW 29A.60.280(1).