RCW 57.12.030 Commissioners—Terms. Except as in this section otherwise provided, the term of office of each district commissioner shall be six years, such term to be computed from the first day of January following the election, and commissioners shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280.

Three initial district commissioners shall be elected at the same election at which the proposition is submitted to the voters as to whether such district shall be formed. The election of initial district commissioners shall be null and void if the ballot proposition to form the district is not approved. Each candidate shall run for one of three separate commissioner positions. A special filing period shall be opened as provided in RCW 29A.24.171 and 29A.24.181. The person receiving the greatest number of votes for each position shall be elected to that position.

The initial district commissioners shall assume office immediately when they are elected and qualified. Staggering of the terms of office for the initial district commissioners shall be accomplished as follows: (1) The person who is elected receiving the greatest number of votes shall be elected to a six-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a five-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year; (2) the person who is elected receiving the next greatest number of votes shall be elected to a four-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a three-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year; and (3) the other person who is elected shall be elected to a two-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year. The terms of office shall be calculated from the first day of January after the election.

Thereafter, commissioners shall be elected to six-year terms of office. Commissioners shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280. [2015 c 53 \S 88; 1996 c 230 \S 403; 1994 c 223 \S 69; 1982 1st ex.s. c 17 \S 14; 1979 ex.s. c 126 \S 39; 1959 c 18 \S 4. Prior: 1947 c 216 \S 1; 1945 c 50 \S 1; 1931 c 72 \S 1; 1929 c 114 \S 6; Rem. Supp. 1947 \S 11584. Cf. 1913 c 161 \S 7.]

Part headings not law—Effective date—1996 c 230: See notes following RCW 57.02.001.

Purpose—1979 ex.s. c 126: See RCW 29A.60.280(1).

Terms and compensation of county and district officers: State Constitution Art. $11 \ \S \ 5$.

Time of holding election for district officers: State Constitution Art. 6 § 8.