## RCW 68.52.220 District commissioners—Compensation—Election.

- (1) The affairs of the cemetery district must be managed by a board of cemetery district commissioners composed of three members. The board may provide, by resolution passed by the commissioners, for the payment of compensation to each of its commissioners at a rate of up to ninety dollars for each day or portion of a day spent in actual attendance at official meetings of the district commission, or in performance of other official services or duties on behalf of the district. However, the compensation for each commissioner must not exceed eight thousand six hundred forty dollars per year.
- (2) Any commissioner may waive all or any portion of his or her compensation payable under this section as to any month or months during his or her term of office, by a written waiver filed with the clerk of the board. The waiver, to be effective, must be filed any time after the commissioner's election and prior to the date on which the compensation would otherwise be paid. The waiver must specify the month or period of months for which it is made. The board must fix the compensation to be paid the secretary and other employees of the district. Cemetery district commissioners and candidates for cemetery district commissioner are exempt from the requirements of chapter 42.17A RCW.
- (3) The initial cemetery district commissioners must assume office immediately upon their election and qualification. Staggering of terms of office must be accomplished as follows: (a) The person elected receiving the greatest number of votes is elected to a sixyear term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a five-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year; (b) the person who is elected receiving the next greatest number of votes is elected to a four-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a three-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year; and (c) the other person who is elected is elected to a two-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year. The initial commissioners must assume office immediately after they are elected and qualified but their terms of office must be calculated from the first day of January after the election.
- (4) Thereafter, commissioners are elected to six-year terms of office. Commissioners must serve until their successors are elected and qualified and assume office as provided in RCW 29A.60.280.
- (5) The dollar thresholds established in this section must be adjusted for inflation by the office of financial management every five years, beginning January 1, 2024, based upon changes in the consumer price index during that time period. "Consumer price index" means, for any calendar year, that year's annual average consumer price index, for Washington state, for wage earners and clerical workers, all items, compiled by the bureau of labor and statistics, United States department of labor. If the bureau of labor and statistics develops more than one consumer price index for areas within the state, the index covering the greatest number of people, covering areas exclusively within the boundaries of the state, and including all items must be used for the adjustments for inflation in this section. The office of financial management must calculate the new dollar threshold and transmit it to the office of the code reviser for publication in the Washington State Register at least one month before the new dollar threshold is to take effect.

(6) A person holding office as commissioner for two or more special purpose districts may receive only that per diem compensation authorized for one of his or her commissioner positions as compensation for attending an official meeting or conducting official services or duties while representing more than one of his or her districts. However, such commissioner may receive additional per diem compensation if approved by resolution of all boards of the affected commissions. [2020 c 83 § 6; 2013 c 167 § 9; 2011 c 60 § 47; 2007 c 469 § 6; 1998 c 121 § 6; 1994 c 223 § 77; 1990 c 259 § 33; 1982 c 60 § 3; 1979 ex.s. c 126 § 40; 1947 c 6 § 14; Rem. Supp. 1947 § 3778-163. Formerly RCW 68.16.140.]

**Effective date—2011 c 60:** See RCW 42.17A.919.

Purpose—1979 ex.s. c 126: See RCW 29A.60.280(1).