RCW 72.09.080 Correctional industries advisory committee— Appointment of members, chair—Compensation—Support. (1) The correctional industries advisory committee shall consist of nine voting members, appointed by the secretary. Each member shall serve a three-year staggered term. The speaker of the house of representatives and the president of the senate shall each appoint one member from each of the two largest caucuses in their respective houses. The legislators so appointed shall be nonvoting members and shall serve two-year terms, or until they cease to be members of the house from which they were appointed, whichever occurs first. The nine members appointed by the secretary shall include three representatives from labor, three representatives from business representing cross sections of industries and all sizes of employers, and three members from the general public.

(2) The committee shall elect a chair and such other officers as it deems appropriate from among the voting members.

(3) The voting members of the committee shall serve with compensation pursuant to RCW 43.03.240 and shall be reimbursed by the department for travel expenses and per diem under RCW 43.03.050 and 43.03.060, as now or hereafter amended. Legislative members shall be reimbursed under RCW 44.04.120, as now or hereafter amended.

(4) The secretary shall provide such staff services, facilities, and equipment as the board shall require to carry out its duties. [2011 1st sp.s. c 21 § 40; 1993 sp.s. c 20 § 4; 1989 c 185 § 5; 1981 c 136 § 9.]

Effective date—2011 1st sp.s. c 21: See note following RCW 72.23.025.