## FINAL BILL REPORT

## SHB 1702

## C 9 L 91 Synopsis As Enacted

- **Brief Description:** Modifying provisions regarding composition of the beef commission.
- By House Committee on Agriculture & Rural Development (originally sponsored by Representatives Rasmussen, Prince, Jacobsen and Rayburn).

House Committee on Agriculture & Rural Development Senate Committee on Agriculture & Water Resources

**Background:** The Washington State Beef Commission is composed of the following nine voting members: three beef producers, one dairy beef producer, three feeders, one livestock saleyard operator, and one meat packer. These members are appointed by the governor and serve three year terms of office. A representative of the Department of Agriculture serves as a nonvoting member of the commission.

Summary: The voting membership of the Beef Commission is expanded to include one additional dairy beef producer. All members of the commission are now appointed by the director of the Department of Agriculture, rather than, under current law, by the governor.

## Votes on Final Passage:

| House  | 98 | 0 |
|--------|----|---|
| Senate | 44 | 0 |

Effective: July 28, 1991