HOUSE BILL REPORT

SB 5018

As Reported By House Committee on: Local Government

- **Title:** An act relating to the levy of additional taxes by emergency medical service districts.
- **Brief Description:** Authorizing an additional tax levy for emergency medical service districts.
- Sponsor(s): Senators L. Smith, Sutherland, Conner, Bauer and Snyder.

Brief History:

Reported by House Committee on: Local Government, April 5, 1991, DP.

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Majority Report: Do pass. Signed by 15 members: Representatives Haugen, Chair; Cooper, Vice Chair; Ferguson, Ranking Minority Member; Mitchell, Assistant Ranking Minority Member; Bray; Edmondson; Franklin; Horn; Nealey; Nelson; Rayburn; Roland; Wood; Wynne; and Zellinsky.

Staff: Bill Lynch (786-7092).

Background: A county legislative authority may adopt an ordinance creating an emergency medical service district in all or a portion of the unincorporated area of the county. The members of the county legislative authority are the governing body of the district. An emergency medical service district may impose a regular property tax of 25 cents or less per \$1,000 of assessed value of property in the taxing district for six consecutive years. This regular property tax must be approved by a super-majority of at least three-fifths of the electors. For some emergency medical service districts, this 25 cent regular property tax is insufficient to cover very basic services. Unlike many other special districts, emergency medical service districts do not have statutory authority to ask voters for an excess levy.

Summary of Bill: An excess levy for emergency medical service districts is authorized.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

Effective Date: Ninety days after adjournment of session in which bill is passed.

Testimony For: This would enable emergency medical service districts to raise needed funds. Voter approval is required for an excess levy. Small districts would particularly benefit.

Testimony Against: None.

Witnesses: Roger Ferris, Washington Fire Commissioners Association; Chuck Williams, Clark County; and Otto Jensen, State Fire Chiefs Association.