HOUSE BILL REPORT

HB 2198

As Passed Legislature

- **Title:** An act relating to the joint center for higher education.
- Brief Description: Making changes to the joint center for higher education.
- Sponsor(s): Representatives Dellwo, H. Sommers, Locke, Silver, Jacobsen, O'Brien, Orr, Moyer, Day, Ebersole, D. Sommers, Wang, Mielke, Wood, Rust, Anderson, Dorn, Morris, Phillips, Hine, Kremen, Riley, Rasmussen, Spanel, Braddock, Sprenkle, Inslee, Winsley, Sheldon, Bray, Leonard, Ogden, Franklin, R. Johnson, R. Fisher, Fraser, Valle, H. Myers, Paris, Peery, R. Meyers, Jones, Zellinsky, Van Luven, Rayburn, Pruitt, R. King, Ferguson, G. Fisher, Padden, Basich, Ludwig, Haugen, Cole, Cantwell, Cooper, Nelson, Hochstatter, Chandler, Forner, P. Johnson, Casada, Brumsickle, Vance, McLean, Mitchell, Tate, Horn, Lisk, Wynne, Beck, Fuhrman, Ballard and Morton.

Brief History:

Reported by House Committee on: Appropriations, April 16, 1991, DP; Passed House, April 18, 1991, 90-1; Passed Legislature, 90-1.

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

Majority Report: Do pass. Signed by 23 members: Representatives Locke, Chair; Inslee, Vice Chair; Spanel, Vice Chair; Silver, Ranking Minority Member; Morton, Assistant Ranking Minority Member; Appelwick; Belcher; Bowman; Brekke; Dorn; Ebersole; Ferguson; Lisk; May; McLean; Mielke; Nealey; Peery; Pruitt; Rust; H. Sommers; Valle; and Vance.

Staff: Sherie Story (786-7142).

Background: In 1985, the Legislature established the Joint Center for Higher Education in Spokane. The purpose of the center is to coordinate programs offered in the Spokane area by Washington State University (WSU) and Eastern Washington University (EWU). The center is jointly funded by EWU and WSU, and is administered by a board consisting of seven voting members: two representatives of EWU; two representatives of WSU; one representative of the Community Colleges of Spokane; and two citizen members from Spokane County. In addition to the seven voting members, the executive director of the Higher Education Coordinating Board serves as a non-voting member. The 1991-93 budget proposal for the center is \$208,000.

In 1989, the Legislature created the Spokane Intercollegiate Research and Technology Institute (SIRTI). The institute is planned to be a multi-institutional education and research center housing programs conducted in Spokane by WSU, EWU, the Community Colleges of Spokane, Gonzaga University, and Whitworth College. WSU is the administrative and fiscal agent for the institute. The coordination of programs and activities at the institute is subject to the authority of the Spokane Joint Center for Higher Education described above. The 1991-93 administrative budget proposal for SIRTI is \$396,000.

To date, 10 acres of land have been purchased at the Spokane Riverpoint site, and \$693,000 has been authorized for the design of the SIRTI facility to be built at the site, and \$450,000 for Riverpoint site improvements. There is a proposal before the Legislature from EWU and WSU to purchase up to an additional 35 acres at Riverpoint, which would be developed as the Spokane Higher Education Park. In addition to the SIRTI facilities, EWU and WSU would eventually build facilities and relocate their activities, both leased and owned, that are currently located in various Spokane facilities.

Summary of Bill: The statutes related to the Joint Center for Higher Education in Spokane and the Spokane Intercollegiate Research and Technology Institute are amended as follows.

The Joint Center for Higher Education is established as an independent, state-funded entity which acts as the fiscal and administrative agent for the Spokane Higher Education Park and SIRTI. The center is given oversight responsibilities for all land and facilities in the Spokane Higher Education Park and SIRTI, and continues the center's program coordination responsibilities.

The Joint Center for Higher Education is required to develop a master plan for the Spokane Higher Education Park and submit the plan to the Higher Education Coordinating Board, the Office of Financial Management, and the Legislature.

The Joint Center for Higher Education governing board is reconstituted to include 12 voting members. Three members

are trustees or regents representing each of the public higher education institutions, and the remaining six are citizens residing in Spokane County and are appointed by the governor and approved by the Senate. The terms of appointment are described. The presidents of Eastern Washington University, Washington State University, and the Spokane Community College district are the three remaining voting members. The executive director of the Higher Education Coordinating Board, the president of Gonzaga University, and the president of Whitworth College serve as non-voting members of the board.

The joint center is authorized to receive and expend federal funds and private gifts or grants.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect July 1, 1991.

Testimony For: The assignment of facilities operations, fiscal agency authority, and master plan development to the Joint Center for Higher Education will bring a focus to local planning and will strengthen coordinated planning for higher education programs and facilities in Spokane. Eastern Washington University, Washington State University, the Spokane Intercollegiate Research and Technology Institute (SIRTI), and the Spokane community endorse House Bill 2198.

Testimony Against: None.

Witnesses: Dick Barret, Eastern Washington University; Ann Daley, Higher Education Coordinating Board; Mike Bigelow, Office of Financial Management; Bev Lingle, Washington State University; and Representative Dennis Dellwo, prime sponsor.