SHB 1702

AS REPORTED BY COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE & WATER RESOURCES, MARCH 21, 1991

Brief Description: Modifying provisions regarding composition of the beef commission.

SPONSORS: House Committee on Agriculture & Rural Development (originally sponsored by Representatives Rasmussen, Prince, Jacobsen and Rayburn).

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE & RURAL DEVELOPMENT

SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE & WATER RESOURCES

Majority Report: Do pass.

Signed by Senators Barr, Chairman; Anderson, Vice Chairman; Bailey, Conner, Gaspard, Hansen, and Newhouse.

Staff: Bob Lee (786-7404)

Hearing Dates: March 21, 1991

BACKGROUND:

The Washington State Beef Commission is composed of the following nine voting members: three beef producers, one dairy beef producer, three feeders, one livestock saleyard operator, and one meat packer. These members are appointed by the Governor and serve three-year terms of office. A representative of the Department of Agriculture serves as a nonvoting member of the commission.

SUMMARY:

The voting membership of the Beef Commission is expanded to include one additional dairy beef producer. All members of the commission are appointed by the Director of the Department of Agriculture.

Appropriation: none

Revenue: none

Fiscal Note: available

TESTIMONY FOR:

The federal legislation that created a national beef promotion program required an assessment on additional dairy cattle. This, in turn, resulted in state legislative changes. The addition of a second member representing dairy cattle is in recognition of the industry's increased contribution.

TESTIMONY AGAINST: None

TESTIFIED: PRO: Dan Coyne, Didi Hitchens, Washington State Dairy Federation; Marlyta Deck, Washington Cattlemen's Association