SB 5133

AS OF FEBRUARY 12, 1991

Brief Description: Requiring elections for boundary review board members.

SPONSORS: Senators McCaslin and Roach.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENTAL OPERATIONS

Staff: Eugene Green (786-7405)

Hearing Dates: February 11, 1991

BACKGROUND:

State law creates a boundary review board in every class AA (King) and A (Pierce, Spokane and Snohomish) county, and permits a boundary review board to be created in all other counties. In these counties, boundary review boards may be created by either resolution of the county legislative authority or by a petition method (no boundary review boards have been formed by the petition method). A boundary review board has been created by resolution of the county legislative authority in each of the following counties: Benton, Chelan, Clark, Cowlitz, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Kitsap, Pacific, Skagit, Skamania, Thurston, Walla Walla, Whatcom and Yakima.

Boundary review boards may review and approve, reject, or modify and approve the creation, dissolution, annexation or consolidation of governmental units, defined to be cities, towns, and special purpose districts (sewer, water, fire protection, drainage and diking improvement, flood control zone, irrigation, metropolitan park, drainage, or public utility district engaged in water distribution).

The boundary review board in King County consists of 11 members: three appointed by the Governor; three appointed by the county; three appointed by the mayors of the cities and towns within the county; and two appointed by the board from nominees of special districts. The boundary review board in all other counties consists of five members: two appointed by the Governor; one appointed by the county; one appointed by the mayors of the cities and towns within the county; and one appointed by the board from nominees of special interests.

Many representatives of local government feel that the members appointed to these boards are insensitive to the needs of local government and should not be second-guessing elected local officials. Members of boundary review boards shall be elected without a primary election to four-year terms. The election shall be nonpartisan and countywide.

Appropriation: none

Revenue: none

Fiscal Note: none requested

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect immediately.