SENATE BILL REPORT

SB 5209

AS PASSED SENATE, MARCH 6, 1991

Brief Description: Revising provisions relating to the legislative transportation committee.

SPONSORS: Senators Vognild, Sellar, Rasmussen, Matson, Snyder and Patterson.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Majority Report: Do pass.

Signed by Senators Patterson, Chairman; Nelson, Vice Chairman; von Reichbauer, Vice Chairman; Barr, Conner, Erwin, Hansen, Madsen, McMullen, Oke, Skratek, Thorsness, and Vognild.

Staff: Gene Schlatter (786-7316)

Hearing Dates: February 12, 1991

BACKGROUND:

The Legislative Transportation Committee composition is 11 Senators and 12 members of the House of Representatives. Appointments are made by the President of the Senate and Speaker of the House, usually based on prorata party split in each body.

SUMMARY:

The Legislative Transportation Committee membership is increased from 23 to 24 members; 12 Senators appointed by the President of the Senate, and 12 House members appointed by the Speaker of the House. Not more than six members from each house will be from the same political party.

The chair will be elected each biennium and rotate between the Senate and House. The first chair will be from the Senate.

Appropriation: none

Revenue: none

Fiscal Note: available

TESTIMONY FOR: None

TESTIMONY AGAINST: None

TESTIFIED: No one