## FINAL BILL REPORT

SB 5821

#### C 125 L 91

## SYNOPSIS AS ENACTED

**Brief Description:** Modifying provisions relating to the creation of air pollution control authorities.

SPONSORS: Senators Craswell, Owen and Oke.

#### SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT & NATURAL RESOURCES

## HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS

#### **BACKGROUND:**

There are nine local air pollution control authorities (agencies) in the state, covering 25 of the 39 counties. Fourteen counties do not have local authorities and their air quality programs are administered by the Department of Ecology.

The state Clean Air Act permits the formation of single and multi-county and/or regional air pollution control authorities.

The act establishes procedures for forming as well as dissolving single or multi-county air authorities. There are no provisions for allowing a county to withdraw from a multi-county authority.

Four counties have elected to have their own single county authority -- Spokane, Yakima, Douglas and Grant counties.

## **SUMMARY:**

Any county that is part of a multi-county air authority under provisions of the state Clean Air Act may withdraw from a multi-county air authority after January 1, 1992. The county may create its own authority, join or form another multi-county authority or choose to be inactive and delegate the responsibility to the Department of Ecology.

Provisions are made for division of liabilities and assets. If the county withdraws, existing regulations of the multicounty authority are to remain in effect until superseded by new rules.

# VOTES ON FINAL PASSAGE:

Senate	37	9	
House	97	0	(House amended)
Senate	34	4	(Senate concurred)

EFFECTIVE: July 28, 1991

12/13/02 [ 2 ]