SENATE BILL REPORT

SB 6078

AS PASSED SENATE, FEBRUARY 18, 1992

Brief Description: Removing SR 901 from the state highway system.

SPONSORS: Senators Skratek, Patterson and Vognild

SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Majority Report: Do pass.

Signed by Senators Patterson, Chairman; Barr, Erwin, Hansen, Madsen, Oke, Sellar, Skratek, Snyder, Thorsness, and Vognild.

Staff: Jeff Doyle (786-7322)

Hearing Dates: January 30, 1992

BACKGROUND:

In 1991, certain additions, deletions and revisions were made to the state highway system. One change was to redesignate SR 901 from West Lake Sammamish Parkway to East Lake Sammamish Parkway. The redesignation is scheduled to take place April 1, 1992.

In April of 1991, the Transportation Improvement Board (TIB) was directed to review this proposed jurisdictional transfer of SR 901 and to report their recommendation to the Legislative Transportation Committee.

After holding a public meeting, taking testimony and reviewing state highway designation criteria, the TIB recommended that neither West nor East Lake Sammamish Parkways be designated as SR 901, and that both roadways be managed by the appropriate local jurisdiction.

SUMMARY:

State Route 901 and East Lake Sammamish Parkway are removed from the state highway system.

SR 901 is also removed as a scenic highway. Eastbound Interstate 90, which is designated a scenic highway beginning at SR 901, remains a scenic highway beginning at or near West Lake Sammamish Parkway in the vicinity of Issaquah.

Appropriation: none

Revenue: none

Fiscal Note: none requested

TESTIMONY FOR:

East Lake Sammamish Parkway was never intended to be a state route and is ill-equipped to handle even current traffic volumes. The transfer of the state route designation by the Legislature was reviewed by the Transportation Improvement Board upon request by Senator Skratek. After extensive review and public testimony, the TIB recommended that neither West nor East Lake Sammamish Parkway be designated a state route.

TESTIMONY AGAINST: None

TESTIFIED: Senator Sylvia Skratek, prime sponsor; George Sutherland, Thane Reitan, Lee Haro, Jean Barrett, East Lake Sammamish Association