Z-0591.2

## HOUSE BILL 1127

## State of Washington 52nd Legislature 1991 Regular Session

**By** Representatives Sheldon, Hargrove, Appelwick, Forner, Paris, Vance, Scott, Wineberry, Jacobsen, Chandler, Wood, P. Johnson, Roland, R. Johnson, Haugen, Cantwell, Jones, May, Zellinsky, Brough, Basich, Lisk, Mitchell, Wynne, Miller, Moyer, Brekke and Sprenkle.

Read first time January 21, 1991. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

1 AN ACT Relating to superior courts; amending RCW 2.08.061, 2 2.08.062, 2.08.064, and 2.08.065; creating a new section; providing 3 effective dates; and declaring an emergency.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

5 Sec. 1. RCW 2.08.061 and 1989 c 328 s 2 are each amended to read 6 as follows:

7 There shall be in the county of King no more than ((forty-six)) 8 fifty-eight judges of the superior court; in the county of Spokane ten 9 judges of the superior court; and in the county of Pierce nineteen 10 judges of the superior court. The King county legislative authority 11 may phase in the additional twelve judges, as authorized by the 1991 12 amendments to this section, over a period of time not to extend beyond 13 July 1, 1995.

p. 1 of 3

Sec. 2. RCW 2.08.062 and 1990 c 186 s 1 are each amended to read as follows:

There shall be in the counties of Chelan and Douglas jointly, three judges of the superior court; in the county of Clark six judges of the superior court; in the county of Grays Harbor ((two)) three judges of the superior court; in the county of Kitsap seven judges of the superior court; in the county of Kittitas one judge of the superior court; in the county of Lewis two judges of the superior court.

9 Sec. 3. RCW 2.08.064 and 1989 c 328 s 3 are each amended to read 10 as follows:

There shall be in the counties of Benton and Franklin jointly, five 11 judges of the superior court; in the county of Clallam, two judges of 12 13 the superior court; in the county of Jefferson, one judge of the superior court; in the county of Snohomish, ((eleven)) twelve judges of 14 the superior court; in the counties of Asotin, Columbia and Garfield 15 16 jointly, one judge of the superior court; in the county of Cowlitz, three judges of the superior court; in the counties of Klickitat and 17 18 Skamania jointly, one judge of the superior court.

19 Sec. 4. RCW 2.08.065 and 1990 c 186 s 2 are each amended to read 20 as follows:

There shall be in the county of Grant, two judges of the superior 21 22 court; in the county of Okanogan, one judge of the superior court; in 23 the county of Mason, ((one)) two judges of the superior court; in the county of Thurston, six judges of the superior court; in the counties 24 of Pacific and Wahkiakum jointly, one judge of the superior court; in 25 26 the counties of Ferry, Pend Oreille, and Stevens jointly, two judges of 27 the superior court; and in the counties of San Juan and Island jointly, 28 two judges of the superior court.

HB 1127

p. 2 of 3

<u>NEW SECTION.</u> Sec. 5. Section 2 of this act shall take effect
January 1, 1992. Section 3 of this act shall take effect July 1, 1992.
Sections 1 and 4 of this act are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, or safety, or support of the
state government and its existing public institutions, and shall take
effect July 1, 1991.

<u>NEW SECTION.</u> Sec. 6. 7 The additional judicial positions 8 created by sections 1, 2, 3, and 4 of this act shall be effective only if each county through its duly constituted legislative authority 9 10 documents its approval of any additional positions and its agreement that it will pay out of county funds, without reimbursement from the 11 state, the expenses of such additional judicial positions as provided 12 13 by statute.

p. 3 of 3