HOUSE JOINT MEMORIAL 4010

State of Washington 52nd Legislature 1991 Regular Session

By Representatives R. Fisher, Schmidt, Cooper, Wilson, R. Meyers, Prentice, Wood, Heavey, Chandler, R. Johnson, Forner, P. Johnson, Mitchell, Brough, Haugen, Zellinsky, Jones, Kremen, Cantwell, Phillips, Nealey, Paris, Bray, Rayburn, Nelson and Anderson.

Read first time February 14, 1991. Referred to Committee on Energy & Utilities.

- 1 TO THE HONORABLE GEORGE BUSH, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, AND
- 2 TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF
- 3 REPRESENTATIVES, AND TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 4 UNITED STATES, IN CONGRESS ASSEMBLED:
- 5 We, your Memorialists, the Senate and House of Representatives of
- 6 the State of Washington, in legislative session assembled, respectfully
- 7 represent and petition as follows:
- 8 WHEREAS, The nation's transportation system, the trade deficit, our
- 9 national security, American jobs, and our economy are tied so closely
- 10 to adequate and stable supplies of petroleum; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Imports of foreign oil now hover at the fifty percent
- 12 level, while domestic production continues to decline; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Recent developments in the Middle East again point up the
- 14 United States' vulnerability to, and the potential for, supply
- 15 disruptions due to the unstable nature of this volatile region; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Many domestic energy problems could be avoided through the
- 17 development of a sound national energy policy;

- 1 NOW, THEREFORE, Your Memorialists respectfully pray that Congress
- 2 actively pursue enactment of a "national energy policy" designed to
- 3 preserve and enhance the ability of the nation to find and produce
- 4 domestic oil and gas; and that provisions be included for taxing
- 5 various alternative fuels developed for use in motor vehicles in order
- 6 to continue to provide adequate funding for the nation's highway
- 7 program.
- 8 BE IT RESOLVED, That copies of this Memorial be immediately sent to
- 9 the Honorable George Bush, President of the United States, the
- 10 President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the House of
- 11 Representatives, and each member of Congress from the State of
- 12 Washington.