HOUSE JOINT MEMORIAL 4024

State of Washington 52nd Legislature 1991 1st Special Session

By Representatives O'Brien, Locke, Anderson, Belcher, Sheldon, Brekke, Spanel, Rasmussen, Prentice, Franklin, Leonard, Paris and Dellwo.

Read first time June 30, 1991. Referred to Committee on State Government.

- 1 TO THE HONORABLE GEORGE BUSH, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, AND
- 2 TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF
- 3 REPRESENTATIVES, AND TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 4 UNITED STATES, IN CONGRESS ASSEMBLED:
- We, your Memorialists, the Senate and House of Representatives of
- 6 the State of Washington, in legislative session assembled, respectfully
- 7 represent and petition as follows:
- 8 WHEREAS, The Chinook, Cowlitz, Duwamish, Samish, Snohomish,
- 9 Snoqualmie, and Steilacoom Tribes of Washington have not been
- 10 officially recognized by the bureau of Indian affairs on behalf of the
- 11 United States government; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Federal recognition of these tribes will restore tribal
- 13 sovereignty, improve tribal governance, clarify tribal status, and
- 14 establish important tribal rights, powers, and privileges; and
- 15 WHEREAS, These tribes are petitioning the bureau of Indian affairs
- 16 to secure official federal recognition; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Federal legislation is needed to improve current
- 2 procedures by which tribes must petition for federal recognition;
- NOW, THEREFORE, Your Memorialists respectfully pray that the
- 4 Congress of the United States confer the status of federally recognized
- 5 tribes upon the Chinook, Cowlitz, Duwamish, Samish, Snohomish,
- 6 Snoqualmie, and Steilacoom Tribes of Washington, and that federal
- 7 legislation be enacted guaranteeing to all tribes the right to seek
- 8 federal recognition under a clear, unbiased, and timely administrative
- 9 procedure.
- 10 BE IT RESOLVED, That copies of this Memorial be immediately
- 11 transmitted to the Honorable George Bush, President of the United
- 12 States, the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the
- 13 House of Representatives, and to each member of Congress from the State
- 14 of Washington.