## HOUSE JOINT MEMORIAL 4029

State of Washington52nd Legislature1992 Regular SessionBy Representatives R. Fisher, Day and Orr

Read first time 01/16/92. Referred to Committee on Transportation.

1 TO THE HONORABLE GEORGE BUSH, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, AND 2 TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF 3 REPRESENTATIVES, AND TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 4 UNITED STATES, IN CONGRESS ASSEMBLED:

5 We, your Memorialists, the Senate and House of Representatives of 6 the State of Washington, in legislative session assembled, respectfully 7 represent and petition as follows:

8 WHEREAS, The preemption by federal laws prohibits states from 9 enforcing their own regulations on interstate rail traffic (45 U.S.C. 10 Sec. 434); and

11 WHEREAS, The Federal Railroad Administration has no requirements 12 for cabooseless train operation, but only guidelines (49 C.F.R. 13 232.19); and

14 WHEREAS, The Canadian Transportation Commission requires all 15 cabooseless trains operating in Canada to be equipped with an end-of-

p. 1 of 2

1 train telemetry information system with a rear-of-train emergency 2 braking feature (CTC Order No. R-41300 1.1); and

3 WHEREAS, Federal regulations requiring train telemetry system with 4 rear-of-train emergency braking feature would be of great benefit to 5 public safety and would not create an undue burden on interstate 6 commerce; and

7 WHEREAS, The problem of trains operating without complete control 8 of the train brake system can be solved by the United States Secretary 9 of Transportation establishing regulations requiring train telemetry 10 systems;

11 NOW, THEREFORE, Your Memorialists respectfully request that the 12 United States Secretary of Transportation establish regulations for 13 cabooseless train operation that require a rear-of-train emergency 14 braking telemetry feature (FRA Docket No. PB-9).

BE IT RESOLVED, That copies of this Memorial be immediately transmitted to the Honorable George Bush, President of the United States, the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and to each member of Congress from the State of Washington.

p. 2 of 2