HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91-4649, by Representative Kremen

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to recognize and commend excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The Lynden High School's boys basketball teams' athletic prowess and skillful performance earned them a 27-1 season record and the opportunity to demonstrate their abilities at the Class A State Basketball Tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Lynden boys basketball squad was named state champions after defeating Toppenish, 80-58 in the Class A boys basketball finals; and

WHEREAS, The Lions' tremendous victory won Lynden High School their fifth state championship title in thirty years; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding record of accomplishment would not have been achieved without the talent and dedication of each of the following team members: Leif Salmonson, Drue Dickinson, Joel Vander Yacht, Derric Croft, Grant Bonsen, Brian Heppner, Colby Jones, Chad Baar, Tom Van Berkum, Brian Foote, Chad VanderKooi, Shon Ten Kley, and team managers Brent VanDalen and Aaron Hermanutz; and

WHEREAS, Lynden High's coaches John Clark, Rich Wahlgren, Chuck Price, and Rob Visser, are commended for teaching their team the value of individual and team excellence;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the Lynden Lions for their accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the principal of Lynden High School and Lynden School District Superintendent, Howard Heppner.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4649 adopted by the Rules Committee of the House of Representatives March 15, 1991. Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk,

House of Representatives