<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91-4705</u>, by Representatives Ebersole, Wang, Pruitt, Jacobsen, Mitchell, Broback, Winsley, Dorn, Franklin, Rasmussen, Brough, Casada and Tate

WHEREAS, Providing educational opportunities for all interested citizens is an important priority of state government; and

WHEREAS, Branch campuses have been established in communities throughout the state to bring public higher education institutions closer to more citizens; and

WHEREAS, The University of Washington has established a branch campus in Tacoma to help meet higher education requirements within the South Puget Sound region; and

WHEREAS, The University of Washington-Tacoma Branch Campus began operations in the fall of 1990, with enrollment steadily increasing to approximately four hundred full-time students planned for the 1991-92 school year; and

WHEREAS, The first graduating class of the University of Washington-Tacoma Branch Campus will graduate on Friday, June 14, 1991; and

WHEREAS, Patti Saunders, Shelle Barnes, Michael Boyte, Charles "Kelly" Creso, and Manuel Sunday are the first students to graduate from this new institution of higher learning; and

WHEREAS, Many students will follow in the steps of these graduates and will help to build a tradition and reputation of excellence for the University of Washington-Tacoma Branch Campus;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives acknowledge and honor these five graduates for their hard work, outstanding commitment, and willingness to be part of the legacy of this new institution; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the University of Washington-Tacoma Branch Campus.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution adopted by the House of Representatives 4705

June 14, 1991.

Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives