HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92-4735, by Representatives Hine, Miller, G. Cole, G. Fisher, Brough, Mitchell, Sprenkle, Locke, Heavey, Prentice, Rust, Forner, Paris, Appelwick, Franklin, Cantwell, Valle, Belcher, Fraser, Jacobsen, R. Fisher, Scott, Rasmussen, J. Kohl, Winsley, Beck, Ogden, Orr, Roland, H. Myers, Haugen, H. Sommers, Spanel, Rayburn, O'Brien, Morris, R. Johnson, Nelson, Wineberry, Wood, R. King, Leonard, Ferguson and Anderson

WHEREAS, The United States Women's Soccer Team won the first ever Federation of International Football Association Women's World Cup soccer championship in Canton, China, defeating Norway by a score of two to one on November 30, 1991; and

WHEREAS, The United States Team, en route to their victory, outscored their opponents in the regional games by a margin of forty-nine to zero, and their opponents in the finals by a margin of twenty-five to five; and

WHEREAS, Four of the eighteen members of the United States Team are graduates of high schools in King County, Washington: Michelle Akers-Stahl, Shorecrest High School; Shannon Higgins, Mount Rainier High School; Amy Allmann, Decatur High School; and Lori Henry, Shorewood High School; and

WHEREAS, Michelle Akers-Stahl, playing the position of striker, scored both goals for the United States for a total of ten goals during the tournament leading all scorers; is considered the number one women's soccer player in the world, was named Player of the Year in the United States Soccer Federation the past two years; and in her senior year at the University of Central Florida in 1988, became the first woman ever to win the Hermann Award, college soccer's version of the Heisman Trophy; and

WHEREAS, Shannon Higgins, playing midfield, in addition to her role on the United States Team, played for the University of North Carolina, where her team won four consecutive national championships; placed second to Akers-Stahl for the Hermann Award, and then won the Hermann Award two years running in 1989 and 1990; and

WHEREAS, Amy Allmann, sharing the goal-keeping position, and Lori Henry, helped protect the goalies from her position as a stopper and marking back, have honored the Northwest with their accomplishments as members of the United States Team and as college athletic stars; and

WHEREAS, All four of these outstanding young women continue to pursue careers in soccer and coaching, as well as furthering their academic goals;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the outstanding talents and accomplishments of Michelle Akers-Stahl, Shannon Higgins, Amy Allmann, Lori Henry, and the United States Women's World Cup Championship Team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the members of the United States Women's World Cup Championship Team.

Resolution 4735	adopted by	the	House	of R	eprese	ntatives
	February	5,	1992.			

Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk