HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92-4772, by Representatives Kremen and Braddock

WHEREAS, Lynden Christian High School won the Class A State Girls Basketball Championship on March 8, 1992, by defeating East Valley 58-48; and

WHEREAS, The Lynden Christian Lyncs demonstrated their true dominance by out rebounding their opponent 42 to 29 in the championship game; and

WHEREAS, The Lynden Christian girls basketball team has now won three Class A State Basketball championships in a row; and

WHEREAS, Only one other team in the history of the girls Class A Basketball tournament has ever won three championships in a row; and

WHEREAS, The coaches and players of the Lynden Christian Lyncs girls basketball team demonstrated all the characteristics of true champions in both sport and academics by earning a 3.64 team grade point average; and

WHEREAS, Much of the credit for the girls basketball program at Lynden Christian High School belongs to a great coaching staff including head coach Curt De Haan, and assistant coaches Nadine Carberry and Keven Van Berkum, all ably assisted by team manager Donna Byeman; and

WHEREAS, The players are deserving of honor for their accomplishments as well: Tracy Lenssen, Tressa Hamstra, Raelene Bajema, Renee Bajema, Sara Faber, Andrea Vander Griend, Kelly Haugen, Carol Byeman, Amy Wynstra, Sally Shagren, Becky Timmermans, and Amy Dirksen;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives offer its congratulations to all the coaches and players on the 1992 Lynden Christian High School championship girls basketball team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Coach De Haan and Lynden Christian High School.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4772 adopted by the House of Representatives March 11, 1992.

