HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92-4776, by Representatives Nelson, R. Fisher, Belcher, Horn, Ferguson, Haugen, Rust, Beck, Nealey, Betrozoff, Cantwell, Wilson, R. King, Forner, Mitchell and Rayburn

WHEREAS, The preservation of the environment is unquestionably and properly a high priority in the state of Washington; and

WHEREAS, The designation of natural resource lands and critical areas are a major component of the state's Growth Management Act; and

WHEREAS, Natural resource lands include lands used for agriculture, forests, and mining, while critical areas include wetlands, aquifer recharge areas, fish and wildlife areas, frequently flooded areas, and geologically hazardous areas; and

WHEREAS, Considerable controversy has arisen over land use regulation in general and designation and protection of critical areas and natural resource lands in specific;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That a select committee on critical areas be established to review the relationship between the designation of natural resource lands or critical areas and value of property, methods to recover lost critical areas, and state and local property taxation of critical areas.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the select committee consist of sixteen members, eight members each selected by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the select committee report its findings and recommendations to the legislature at the regular session held in 1993; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the report shall contain, but not

be limited to recommendations on:

- (a) Methods for local governments to allow for the transfer of development rights involving natural resource lands and critical areas;
- (b) State and local government property taxation of lands that have been designated natural resource lands or critical areas;
- (c) State and local government financing techniques for the purchase of natural resource lands and critical areas; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the Committees on Agriculture and Rural Development, Housing, Local Government, Environmental Affairs, Natural Resources, Fisheries and Wildlife, Transportation, and Trade and Economic Development.