## SENATE JOINT MEMORIAL 8015

State of Washington 52nd Legislature 1991 Regular Session

By Senators Vognild, Patterson, Gaspard, Hayner, Snyder, Newhouse, Anderson and McMullen.

Read first time February 25, 1991. Under suspension of rules read second and third times and passed, February 25, 1991.

- 1 TO THE HONORABLE GEORGE BUSH, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, AND
- 2 TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF
- 3 REPRESENTATIVES, AND TO THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 4 UNITED STATES, IN CONGRESS ASSEMBLED:
- 5 We, your Memorialists, the Senate and House of Representatives of
- 6 the State of Washington, in legislative session assembled, respectfully
- 7 represent and petition as follows:
- 8 WHEREAS, To promote safety of life and property at sea and the
- 9 protection of the marine environment, the International Standards of
- 10 Training, Certification, and Watchkeeping for Seafarers was established
- 11 in 1978; and
- 12 WHEREAS, This international convention on crew standards has been
- 13 ratified by seventy-eight nations, including all major maritime nations
- 14 in the world, with the exception of the United States; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Foreign flag vessels carry ninety-five percent of all
- 16 waterborne commerce into the United States; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Ratification by the United States of the International
- 2 Convention on Standards of Training, Certification, and Watchkeeping
- 3 for Seafarers, 1978, would provide the United States Coast Guard with
- 4 the authority to enforce crew standards on foreign flag vessels in
- 5 United States waters;
- 6 NOW, THEREFORE, Your Memorialists respectfully pray that the
- 7 President and Congress of the United States ratify the International
- 8 Convention on Standards of Training, Certification, and Watchkeeping
- 9 for Seafarers, 1978.
- 10 BE IT RESOLVED, That copies of this Memorial be immediately
- 11 transmitted to the Honorable George Bush, President of the United
- 12 States, the President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of the
- 13 House of Representatives, and to each member of Congress from the State
- 14 of Washington.