SENATE RESOLUTION 1991-8619

By Senator A. Smith

WHEREAS, The city of SeaTac, population of twenty-four thousand, celebrates its first anniversary of incorporation as a city on February 28, 1991; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Frank Hansen, Deputy Mayor Shirley Thompson, and councilmembers Terry Anderson, Joe Brennan, Kathy Gehring, Jeanne Masters, and Julia Patterson proudly serve as SeaTac's first city councilmembers along with city manager Doug Sutherland; and

WHEREAS, The city of SeaTac started out with five employees, a borrowed phone, and no furniture, but now has sixty-six employees, a city hall, a fire department, and a court system; and

WHEREAS, The city of SeaTac was the official welcoming city for the Goodwill Games; and

WHEREAS, The city of SeaTac is the home of Washington State's largest passenger and commercial airport;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Washington recognize and honor the city of SeaTac on the first anniversary of its incorporation; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the SeaTac city council.