SENATE RESOLUTION 1991-8638

By Senator Roach

WHEREAS, On March 9, 1991, the Auburn High School Lady Trojans basketball team defeated the Mead Panthers of Spokane by a score of 44-36 to win the Washington Class AAA championship; and

WHEREAS, The Trojans showed remarkable poise in the championship game by overcoming an eight-point deficit in the final five minutes of the game, outscoring their opponents 18-2 during that stretch to win by eight points; and

WHEREAS, The championship was the Trojans' second state title, following one in 1983, and was the crowing achievement of a superb season which saw the team win 26 games, going undefeated against Washington opponents and losing only two games to national competition in a prestigious East Coast tournament; and

WHEREAS, Auburn junior Behka Stafford was voted the Washington girls Class AAA tournament's most valuable player after scoring 17 points in the championship, including 12 points in the last 3:11 minutes of the game; and

WHEREAS, All other members of the team played critical roles in the team's success, including Jane Kuxhausen, Kristi Dray, Carey Rockey, Christy Mariani, Behka Stafford, Kristi Konsmo, Angie Jorgensen, Nancy Konsmo, Erin Swanson, Laine Gonzales, Kelli Crossno, Janna Ellsworth and Jennifer Wood; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Dennis Olson and Assistant Coaches Tony Higgins, Gordon O'Dell, Dale Pound and Jason Higgins proved their coaching skills and leadership abilities in guiding the team through its stellar season; and

WHEREAS, Team Managers Laurel Parker, Sarah Rockey, Jessica Williams and Rashall Novacek, Student Trainer Denise Kartes, and Team Secretary/Statistics Coordinator Priscilla Wood played crucial supporting roles in the team's success; and

WHEREAS, The team received exemplary season-long support from parents, students, fans, and the community as a whole; and

WHEREAS, Team members have proven their ability not only to succeed on the court but also in the classroom;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate hereby congratulates the Auburn High School Lady Trojans for their outstanding season, including their spectacular victory in the Class AAA championship game; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Auburn High School Lady Trojans Coach Dennis Olson.