SENATE RESOLUTION 1992-8708

By Senators Vognild, Metcalf and Rasmussen

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and WHEREAS, The state football championships traditionally showcase the exceptionally talented high school teams from throughout the state in the Kingbowl; and

WHEREAS, The Cascade Bruins football team from Everett won its first-ever title as 1991 Class AAA state champions; and

WHEREAS, The Bruins capped an outstanding 1991 season record of 12 wins with only one loss in Wesco Conference football play and the playoff games; and

WHEREAS, The Bruins staged a very impressive 14-7 victory over the Puyallup Vikings in Kingbowl XV; and

WHEREAS, Cascade Principal Gary Axtell praised Coach Terry Ennis' hard work and his ability to help young people "reach above where they would normally plateau;" and

WHEREAS, The Bruins football team benefitted from its hard work and smart leadership from its own captains, Dan Gilday and Travis Cruse, both of whom are excellent students; and

WHEREAS, The Bruins displayed outstanding team spirit, athletic skill, intensity and determination in winning the state championship;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognizes winning varsity team members Mark Walters, Chad Staley, Joe Gallagher, Brandon Anderson, Kevin Swaney, Mike McFarland, Sean McGowan, Jordan LePiane, Dan Gilday, Pat Allen, Paul Oxwang, Ty Curley, Mark Lehner, Brannon Bonner, Mike Butler, Chris Pitzer, Weikko Jaross, Travis Cruse, David Gilbert, Ryan Sommers, Paul Haltom, Sean Degon, James Cheney, Doug Reeves, Jason Stone, Jerry Jensen, Scott Blankenburg, Quinn Renfro-Wilson, Doug Early, Jeremy Campbell, Ed Wheeler, Tony Franklin, Matt Pewitt, Darold Phinney, Roger Brodniack, Dan Duffy, Jason Dobbs, Aaron Bibe, Vuthy Tan, Jake Thomas, Frank Bower, Paul Mickelbart, Jeremy Erickson, C. J. Lyons, Tony Coleman, Josh Stevens, John Reynolds, Brian Cordova, Fred Collins, Blake Burpee, Marcus Dill, and Ray Meyers and congratulates them on their victory; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate also recognizes and applauds the leadership of 4-year Coach Terry Ennis in taking his team to the championship; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That assistant coaches Dick Abrams, Paul Lawrence, Craig Dekins, Mike Therrell, Rollin Wilson, Kirk Nicholson, Jake Huizinga, Marv Mathews, Mike Doph, Bill Lucas and Larry King are recognized for their continuing support; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Bruins want to thank everyone for their contribution and support to the team, including: Athletic Director Ernie Dire, Band Director Jim Johnson, Cheer Advisor Mary Ellin Stark, band members, cheerleaders, and most of all their loyal fans; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Bruins wish to show their gratitude to those that played a key role in the team's successful season, including: Trainer Paul Eckard, Student Trainer James Drechsler, Filmer Al Frasch, Managers Spring Atkinson, Jamie Oxwang, Chet Whitman, Barbara Martindale, Statistician John Barhanovich, Ball Boys Tim Odell, Brett Jensen, Todd Fankhauser, John Stevens, and Ryan Bekins; and

BE IT FURTHR RESOLVED, That senior Jordan LePaine, who anchored both the offensive and defensive lines for the Bruins, was honored as the 1991 Lineman of the Year by the Washington State Sportswriters Association; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That running back/defensive end Ty Curley is congratulated and so recognized by the Washington State Senate for being named most valuable player of the boys' Class AAA football game, and that he, his teammates, their coaches and their school are commended for their spirit and for their accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the captains of the football team, Coach Terry Ennis, Principal Gary Axtell and the Cascade Bruins.

I, Gordon A. Golob, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 1992-8708, adopted by the Senate February 21, 1992.

GORDON A. GOLOB Secretary of the Senate