HOUSE BILL REPORT HB 2234

As Reported by House Committee On:

Capital Budget

Title: An act relating to state capitol campus governance.

Brief Description: Creating the legislative buildings committee.

Sponsors: Representatives Romero, Schoesler, Hunt, Dunshee and Alexander.

Brief History:

Committee Activity:

Capital Budget: 4/3/03, 4/7/03 [DP].

Brief Summary of Bill

- The Legislative Buildings Committee is created and has sole responsibility for internal space allocations, equipment, furnishings, and building usages for the Legislative Building, the Cherberg Building, the O'Brien Building, the Newhouse Building, the Pritchard Building, and the Governor's Mansion.
- The Legislative Buildings Committee is comprised of the Governor or the governor's designee and four legislators, one from each major caucus in the House and one from each major caucus in the Senate.
- The State Capital Committee's membership is changed. It is comprised of the members of the Legislative Buildings Committee, the Commissioner of Public Lands or the commissioner's designee, and the Director of the Washington State Historical Society.

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON CAPITAL BUDGET

Majority Report: Do pass. Signed by 23 members: Representatives Dunshee, Chair; Hunt, Vice Chair; Alexander, Ranking Minority Member; Priest, Assistant Ranking Minority Member; Benson, Blake, Bush, Chase, Flannigan, Hankins, Hinkle, Kirby, Lantz, McIntire, Morrell, Murray, Newhouse, O'Brien, Orcutt, Schoesler, Simpson, Veloria and Woods.

Staff: Charlie Gavigan (786-7340).

Background:

The governance of the capitol campus, and all state facilities in Thurston County, is through the **State Capitol Committee**, with day-to-day management provided by the Department of General Administration. The State Capitol Committee (SCC) was established by the Legislature in 1921 and replaced the State Capitol Commission created in 1901. The SCC: (1) Approves construction of all state buildings in Thurston County; (2) approves acquisition of real estate for state government in Thurston County; and (3) carries out other duties as specified by the Legislature. The members of the SCC are the Governor, the Lieutenant Governor, the Secretary of State, and the Commissioner of Public Lands (ex officio).

The Capitol Campus Design Advisory Committee (CCDAC) advises the State Capitol Committee and the Department of General Administration regarding state capitol facilities and grounds. The CCDAC consists of four legislators, the Secretary of State, two architects, a landscape architect, and an urban planner. Staff resources are provided by the Department of General Administration. The CCDAC originally was created by executive order in 1984, continued through budget provisos, and enacted into statute in 1990.

The **Legislative Building Renovation Oversight Committee** was created in the 2001-03 Capital Budget to provide advice regarding the rehabilitation of the Legislative Building. It consists of four legislators.

The **Department of General Administration** provides staff support to the SCC and the CCDAC, and manages the capitol campus facilities and grounds on a day-to-day basis.

The Joint Select Committee on Historic Capitol District Governance was created in the 2002 Supplemental Capital Budget. Consisting of four legislators, the committee is to make recommendations on governance of the historic capitol campus buildings.

The Washington State Patrol is responsible for securi	n State Patrol is responsible to	sible for secur	rity.
-------------------------------------------------------	----------------------------------	-----------------	-------

Summary of Bill:

The Legislative Buildings Committee is created and has sole responsibility for internal space allocations, equipment, furnishings, and building usages for the Legislative Building, the Cherberg Building, the O'Brien Building, the Newhouse Building, the Pritchard Building, and the Governor's Mansion. This oversight includes the provision of office space for state agencies and housing for the Governor. The Legislative Buildings Committee is comprised of the Governor or the governor's designee and four legislators, one from each major caucus in the House and one from each major caucus in the Senate. The committee can appoint ex officio members at its discretion to assist the

committee with historical, structural or architectural considerations, and may contract for such services if funding is provided.

The State Capital Committee's membership is changed. It is comprised of the members of the Legislative Buildings Committee, the Commissioner of Public Lands or the commissioner's designee, and the Director of the Washington State Historical Society.

The Capital Campus Design Advisory Committee no longer includes the Secretary of State or four legislators. The committee advises the Legislative Buildings Committee in addition to the State Capital Committee and the Department of General Administration.

The Legislative Buildings Committee will make naming recommendations to the Legislature on buildings it oversees, rather than the State Capital Committee.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Not Requested.

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect immediately.

Testimony For: When several other states renovated their capital building, they found a need to change the governance structure to one that was clearer and more direct. Washington's Legislative Building renovation process demonstrates a similar need for a clearer governance structure. The Legislature should consolidate numerous related committees and get legislators responsible for the budget involved more directly in decisions and oversight.

Testimony Against: The Legislature does not need to create another committee. Let the Joint Select Committee on Governance complete its work and make its recommendations before any action is taken.

Testified: (In support) Representative Romero, prime sponsor.

(Opposed) Chris Rose, Governor's Executive Policy Office.