## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.4678, by Representatives Schoesler and Cox

WHEREAS, On December 5, 2003, the LaCrosse/Washtucna Tigercats won their second consecutive State B-8 Football Championship with a 60-20 victory over the Jubilee Christian Warriors in the Tacoma Dome; and

WHEREAS, The Tigercats finished the season with a perfect 12-0 record, and have the state's second longest winning streak with 23 straight victories; and

WHEREAS, The Team had the least amount of points scored against them for the season,

averaging 10.3 points per game; and

WHEREAS, The members of the football team, Marshall Burke, BJ Long, Justin McKenzie, Chris Keeney, Kevin Dainty, Joe Long, Shayn Delph, Tyler Martin, Craig Koller, Ryan Dorman, Hans Guske, Dallas Filan, Matt Martin, Ed Michel, Dirk Wigen, Alex Michel, Brian Baumann, Tyler Startin, Jeff Bafus, Adam Whitman, Tyson Carter, Noah St. Hilaire, Luke Stanley, Josh Chastain, Kellen Hays, and Michael Martin, distinguished themselves as high school athletes dedicated to teamwork, discipline, and achievement; and

WHEREAS, Team Manager Garrett Blauert provided much needed assistance to the coaches and the team members; and

WHEREAS, Cheerleaders Heather Hegal, Lindsey Lepper, Karlee Miller, Danielle Scoles, and Blair Widmer provided much needed enthusiasm and school spirit for the team members and fans; and

WHEREAS, Community members, parents, faculty, and the Tigercat Booster Club helped contribute to the success of the LaCrosse/Washtucna Tigercats by giving their whole-hearted support to the team members and the coaches, cheering them on to victory; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jeff Nelson should be applauded not only for his impressive coaching record, but his contribution to inspiring his players to victory, and leading the Tigercats to two consecutive state championship titles; and

WHEREAS, Assistant Coaches Kermit Wigen and Jim Hopkins share in the success due to their outstanding coaching and effort that went into developing the football program to its current stature;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives honor the 2003 LaCrosse/Washtucna Tigercats football team and coaching staff; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the LaCrosse/Washtucna Principal Doug Curtis, Athletic Director Sandy Martin, Coach Nelson, Assistant Coaches Wigen and Hopkins, and each member of the Tigercats championship team.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4678 adopted by the House of Representatives January 22, 2004

| Richard Nafziger, Chief Clerk |
|-------------------------------|