<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.4724</u>, by Representatives Rodne, Ahern, Schindler, Benson, Bailey, Hankins, Clements, Sump, Priest, Roach, Pearson, Sehlin, Newhouse, Mastin, DeBolt, Carrell, Hinkle, McDonald, Orcutt, McMahan, Cairnes, Crouse, Bush, Cox, Condotta, Campbell, Nixon, McMorris, Delvin, Ericksen, Mielke, Buck, McCoy, Schoesler, Woods, Kristiansen, Tom, Talcott, Holmquist, Shabro, Jarrett, Alexander, Miloscia, Chandler, Wood, Sullivan, Upthegrove, Veloria, Hunter, Moeller, Chase, Dickerson, Haigh, Ormsby, McIntire, Hunt, Schual-Berke, Rockefeller, O'Brien, Clibborn, Darneille, Fromhold, Sommers, G. Simpson, Grant, Quall, Chopp, Kessler, Linville, Lovick, Lantz, Anderson, Armstrong, Blake, Boldt, Cody, Conway, Cooper, Dunshee, Edwards, Eickmeyer, Flannigan, Hatfield, Hudgins, Kagi, Kenney, Kirby, McDermott, Morrell, Morris, Murray, Pettigrew, Romero, Ruderman, Santos, D. Simpson, Skinner and Wallace

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the legislature to honor excellence in every field of endeavor; and WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs - the Zags - of Gonzaga University, Spokane, Washington, have proved their excellence thus far this season through incredible achievements; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga University Bulldogs men's basketball team have fielded one of the best teams in the history of the school and the best program in league history with two potential first-round draft picks and talent that goes 10 deep; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs are currently 27-2, with losses only to the teams ranked numbers 1 and 2 in the nation. The Zags did not lose to a single West Coast Conference opponent, and their last loss was December 20th last year to Stanford; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldog's historic school record 20-game winning streak is the second longest in the country, behind 27-0 Saint Joseph's; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs have won yet another West Coast Conference (WCC) tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs capped their undefeated season in conference play by beating Saint Mary's for the 17th straight time with nearly 1,600 hometown fans cheering at the Leavey Center and chanting "Undefeated!" in the final minute; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs have climbed to number 3 in the polls reaching their highest ranking in school history; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs are entering their sixth straight appearance in the NCAA Championship tournament, a league record; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs have been able to beat teams in many ways this season, having excellent depth that allows them to go through the season withstanding a couple of injuries, having outstanding ability to shoot the ball as well as any other team in NCAA history and not only from one or two positions, but from everywhere on the floor, being an outstanding transition team, and never giving up but gathering themselves together to do what needs to be done as a team when crunch time comes; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldog's Elite Eight team of 1999 birthed the current mania with its accomplishments setting a near-impossible standard; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs are direct descendants of the 1999 team and from all the Gonzaga teams that have won or shared WCC or tournament titles eight times in the past decade with the result that the Bulldogs have established a sustained dominance that exceeds anything in league history; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldog's legacy now lies in what can be achieved over the season's final three weeks; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs Team Members include Kyle Bankhead, Guard/Forward, Colin Floyd, Guard, Richard Fox, Center, Erroll Knight, Guard, Sean Mallon, Forward, Brian Michaelson, Guard, Adam Morrison, Forward, Derek Raivio, Guard, Tony Skinner, Guard, Blake Stepp, Guard, Ronny Turiaf, Forward, and Cory Violette, Center/Forward; and WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs Coaches include Mark Few, Head Coach, Bill Grier, Assistant Coach, Leon Rice, Assistant Coach, Tommy Lloyd, Assistant Coach, Steve DeLong, Trainer, and Jerry Krause, Director of Basketball Operations; and

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga Bulldogs Team Members and Coaches exemplify the success that is possible when clear goals are established and persistent effort is made toward those goals;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the state of Washington recognize and honor the Gonzaga Bulldogs Team Members for their dedication, sacrifice, and hard work in achieving these significant accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the state of Washington recognize and honor the Gonzaga Bulldogs Team Coaches for their dedication, sacrifice, and leadership in achieving these significant accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the state of Washington recognize and honor the parents, families, classmates, teachers, and community members of the Gonzaga Bulldogs Team Members and Coaches for the important part they played in helping this team excel and achieve their goals; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Father Robert J. Spitzer, S.J., Gonzaga University President, and to each of the Coaches and Team Members of the Gonzaga Bulldogs.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4724 adopted by the House of Representatives March 10, 2004

Richard Nafziger, Chief Clerk