By Senators Johnson, Rasmussen, Franklin, McAuliffe and Fraser

WHEREAS, On December 7, 2002, the Kentwood High School Conquerors won the Class 4A State Football Championship by beating the Capital High School Cougars 35-28 in the Tacoma Dome Gridiron Classic; and

WHEREAS, The Conquerors' twelve-game winning streak going into the state title game was hard fought with two overtime playoff victories and a win against top-ranked Bethel in the state quarterfinals, despite six players being ineligible for play; and

WHEREAS, The Conquerors won their second straight state title, becoming only the third school in 4A history to accomplish this feat; and

WHEREAS, The Conquerors football team finished the season with an impressive record of 13-1; and

WHEREAS, Kalen Roy, a first year starter played his best game to date, completing 10 of 17 pass attempts for 154 yards, including three touchdowns; and

WHEREAS, The team's offense was led by running back Will Thompson who rushed for 214 yards on 34 carries, and one 22-yard touchdown reception; and

WHEREAS, The Conquerors' defense derailed the Cougars attempt to continue their eight-game win streak when defensive back James Sipe intercepted a pass early in the fourth quarter and ran for an eighty-yard touchdown securing victory; and

WHEREAS, The remainder of the football team, Adrian Chandler, Brett Haack, Nathan White, Greg Otis, Justin Forney, Cameron Richardson, Austin Stein, Chris Mahoney, Chad Helgeson, Jarrett Tomalin, Jeff Klauzlarich, Joseph Titialii, Joey Ravotti, Troy Benton, Nate Whitlock, Drew Bolinger, Tim Brensdal, D J Pennewell, Ty Bianco, Ryan White, Travis Nauta, Daniel White, Victor Ramos, Tahj Bomar, Tim Brensdal, Mike Schut, Travis Meyer, Demetrius Bibb, Joe Waugh, David Jensen, Leon Wroblewski, Drew Edwards, Jarvis Harden, Joe Cimaomo, Adam Mott, Liam Meehan, Mark Campbell, Alex Moaali, Chris Newton, Drew Fowler, Mike Campbell, Aaron Ulrich, Fred Ancheta, Andrew Hooper, John Andrew, Cordell Whalen, Ryan Conwell, Drew Molzhon, and Aaron Egbert, distinguished themselves as high school athletes dedicated to teamwork, discipline, and achievement; and

WHEREAS, Coach Tom Ingles should be applauded not only for his contribution to inspire his players to victory but also for leading the Conquerors to two consecutive state championship titles and his impressive Kentwood coaching record of 105-37; and

WHEREAS, Assistant Coaches Kurt Phelps, Jim Sutrick, Melvin Wells, Jon Aarstad, Seth Garrison, Kevin Thomas, and Harold Hawkin share in the success due to their outstanding coaching and effort that went into developing the football program to its current stature; and

WHEREAS, The Conquerors football team has won 17 of 19 playoff games in the last four years, helping them set a new 4A record of 28 state tournament wins; and

WHEREAS, Over twenty years of winning football seasons capped off by two championship titles have truly given a literal meaning to Kentwood High Schools perennial adage "Its great to be alive, its great to be a Conk";

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor the 2002 Kentwood Senior High School Conquerors football team and coaching staff; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Kentwood Principal Doug Hostetter, Kentwood Athletic Director Jo Anne Daughtry, Coach Ingles, and each member of the Conquerors championship team.

I, Milton H. Doumit, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8631, adopted by the Senate April 2, 2003

MILTON H. DOUMIT, JR. Secretary of the Senate