SENATE RESOLUTION 8641

By Senators Regala, Rasmussen, Kohl-Welles, McAuliffe and Spanel

WHEREAS, Skillful, enthusiastic, and innovative teachers improve the lives of countless students by encouraging curiosity and understanding and by contributing to the development of mind and spirit; and

WHEREAS, The U.S. Professors of the Year Program, presented by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and directed by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, is one of the nation's most highly respected programs to recognize outstanding faculty; and

WHEREAS, The Washington Professor of the Year represents the thousands of dedicated university and college instructors throughout the state of Washington who serve their students, their community, and their state with dedication and talent; and

WHEREAS, The Professors of the Year Program supports schools and teachers who have high expectations of students, a passion for their development of intellectual autonomy, and who challenge them to ever higher levels of achievement; and

WHEREAS, The quality of life and the scope of opportunity for many future citizens of Washington will be determined by the quality of teaching in the classroom; and

WHEREAS, Suzanne Wilson Barnett, professor of history at the University of Puget Sound has been named Washington Professor of the Year for 2002;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Washington recognize and commend Suzanne Wilson Barnett for this recognition and her dedication to teaching; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Suzanne Wilson Barnett.

I, Milton H. Doumit, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8641, adopted by the Senate March 18, 2003

MILTON H. DOUMIT, JR. Secretary of the Senate