## By Senators Fraser and Morton

WHEREAS, Each year high schools from around Washington state participate in an academic decathlon where high school students compete against one another in the following ten academic areas: Math, economics, science or social studies, literature, fine arts, music, essay, speech, and interview and super quiz covering social studies or science; and

WHEREAS, It is recognized that the Senate of the State of Washington has identified areas of essential learning; and

WHEREAS, It is recognized that these areas are fully covered in and encompass more academic subjects than those identified as important in essential learning in Washington; and

WHEREAS, It is recognized that the Senate of the State of Washington wants to reward academic accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, An academic decathlon team is composed of nine students with three members from each grade point level who are given the opportunity to win gold, silver, or bronze medals in each of the ten academic areas; and

WHEREAS, An academic decathlon team's combined score determines the overall winner of the competition so that one team then becomes Washington state's academic decathlon team for that year; and

WHEREAS, Each team member sacrifices free time after school and on weekends to practice and prepare for the academic decathlon; and

WHEREAS, The Olympia High School team, composed of Lauren Swiderski, Nick Halpern, Yogash Saletore, Mandi Maycumber, Elise Gowen, Palmer Buchholz, Colin Jones, John Bessey, and Jennifer Kinnamon, and coached by William Curtis, won the Washington state competition; and

WHEREAS, The Olympia High School team was crowned Washington State Academic Decathlon Team for 2003 and will represent the state at the national United States Academic Decathlon competition to be held April 23-26 in Erie, Pennsylvania; and

WHEREAS, The academic decathlon team from Timberline High School, composed of Jennifer Caldwell, Jhanteigh Kupihea, Michal Friend, Aimee Neece, Andrew Robinson, Britta Swanson, Adam Krell, Amanda DeLisle, Tristan Felchlin, Diane DelValle, and Quynh Tran, and coached by Richard Kistler, placed second in the Washington state competition; and

WHEREAS, The academic decathlon team from Curlew High School composed of Sarah Sutherlin, Emily Sutherlin, Sean Bishop, Doug Engstrom, Rachel Sherrer, David Drennan, and DJ Starr, and coached by Dr. Karen Schaaf, placed third in the Washington state competition; and

WHEREAS, The academic decathlon team from South Sound High School, composed of Samuel Ruetz, Benjamin Meyle, Roy Pulchalski, Evan Smith, Casey Hulbert, Denise Valentine, John Myers, Alex Laguna, and Brianna Carden, and coached by Linn Hergert, won the state super quiz competition;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Washington recognize and honor these outstanding teams for their exceptional accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the principal of Olympia High School, the principal of Timberline High School, the principal of Curlew High School, the principal of South Sound High School, and the coaches of the academic decathlon teams representing these four schools.

I, Milton H. Doumit, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8654, adopted by the Senate April 3, 2003 MILTON H. DOUMIT, JR. Secretary of the Senate