## SENATE RESOLUTION 8716

By Senators Kohl-Welles, Thibaudeau, Prentice, Kline, Poulsen, Jacobsen and B. Sheldon

WHEREAS, The Women's Caucus for Art, founded in 1972, is a national organization unique in its multidisciplinary, multicultural membership of artists, art historians, students, educators, museum professionals, and galleries in the visual arts; and

WHEREAS, The Women's Caucus for Art is now the largest organization for women actively engaged in the visual art professions, with over 40 chapters and 3,500 members nationwide; and

WHEREAS, The Seattle Women's Caucus for Art has supported female artists in Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska since 1983 by providing regular forums and workshops about current and historical issues in aesthetics, contemporary art practices, and education; and

WHEREAS, Since 1977, the Women's Caucus for Art has honored over 125 distinguished female arts professionals with National Lifetime Achievement Awards; and

WHEREAS, On February 18, in Seattle, Emma Amos, Jo Baer, Michi Itami, Helen Levitt, and Yvonne Rainer will receive 2004 Lifetime Achievement Awards and Elizabeth A. Sackler and Tara Donovan will receive 2004 President Awards; and

WHEREAS, Women's historical and contemporary contributions to artistic achievement and cultural enrichment have been traditionally undervalued;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor the awardees of 2004 Women's Caucus for Art Lifetime Achievement and President Awards and recognize the significant contributions of women to the arts; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the Women's Caucus for Art in Seattle, and the awardees.

I, Milton H. Doumit, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8716, adopted by the Senate March 8, 2004

MILTON H. DOUMIT, JR. Secretary of the Senate