## SENATE RESOLUTION 8729

By Senators Murray, B. Sheldon, Deccio, McCaslin, Sheahan, Brown, Johnson and Mulliken

WHEREAS, The Gonzaga University Men's Basketball Team is making its sixth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament, college basketball's "Big Dance"; and

WHEREAS, Following a regular season of unprecedented success, culminating in a No. 3 national ranking, the Gonzaga Bulldogs hope to continue their unparalleled tradition of postseason success this year by achieving their highest ever NCAA seed; and

WHEREAS, The Bulldogs have won more than 20 games for six consecutive seasons and 11 of the last 13 years; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mark Few, along with assistant coaches Bill Grier, Leon Rice, and Tommy Lloyd, and trainer Steve DeLong have led the Zags to the 2004 West Coast Conference Regular Season Title and Tournament Title, with an 84-71 victory over St. Mary's in the WCC Tournament Championship game; and

WHEREAS, Coach Few won his fourth consecutive West Coast Conference coach of the year honor, leading his team to a record of 27-2, best in school history, and the first undefeated 14-0 record in West Coast Conference play in school history; and

WHEREAS, Senior point guard Blake Stepp has averaged 14.7 points per game, a conference leading 6.9 assists per game, and sank 74 three-pointers during the season, earning his second consecutive West Coast Conference player of the year award and first team all conference honors; and

WHEREAS, Junior forward Ronny Turiaf has been named one of 30 Wooden Award finalists, the award given to the top college basketball player in the country; and

WHEREAS, Bruising and dominating Bulldog big man Corey Violette, along with Stepp and Turiaf, was also named to the All West Coast Conference first team, Violette for the third time, and Stepp and Turiaf for the second time; and

WHEREAS, Freshman Adam Morrison, who evoked many a memory of a young Larry Bird, and freshman Sean Mallon, who led the team with a 61 percent field goal percentage, were named to the first ever West Coast Conference all freshman team, shining a bright light on the future of Gonzaga Bulldog basketball; and

WHEREAS, Guard Kyle Bankhead, guard Tony Skinner, and center Richard Fox provided valuable senior leadership and guidance, while players Erroll Knight, Derek Raivio, Colin Floyd, and Brian Michaelson provided exciting sparks off the bench, helping guide the Zags to their most successful regular season in school history; and

WHEREAS, The 2004 Gonzaga Bulldogs hope to keep playing well into March as they vie for College Basketball's national championship against the best teams in the nation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate officially recognize the Gonzaga Men's basketball program for yet another brilliant season of roundball dominance and wish them the best of luck in the upcoming NCAA Tournament. GO ZAGS!!; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be delivered to Robert J. Spitzer, S.J., President of Gonzaga University, the Gonzaga Men's Basketball Coaching Staff and Players, and Mike Roth, Director of the Gonzaga University Athletic Department.

I, Milton H. Doumit, Jr., Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8729, adopted by the Senate March 10, 2004

MILTON H. DOUMIT, JR. Secretary of the Senate