Washington State House of Representatives Office of Program Research

BILL ANALYSIS

Capital Budget Committee

HB 1301

Brief Description: Creating the legislative buildings committee.

Sponsors: Representatives Hunt, Alexander, Ormsby, Jarrett, Dunshee, Williams and Moeller.

Brief Summary of Bill

- Modifies the composition and size of the State Capitol Committee to include four legislators and the state historic preservation officer. The Lieutenant Governor and the Secretary of State are removed from the State Capitol Committee.
- Establishes that the State Capitol Committee has sole responsibility for allocating internal space and establishing policy regarding the preservation of the historic character of the interior and furnishings of the Legislative building, the Cherberg building, the John L. O'Brien building, the Newhouse building, and the Pritchard building.

Hearing Date: 2/2/05

Staff: Susan Howson (786-7142).

Background:

The State Capitol Committee (SCC) is composed of the Governor or the Governor's designee, the Lieutenant Governor, the Secretary of State, and the Commissioner of Public Lands. The Commissioner of Public Lands is designated as the secretary of the SCC, but the SCC may appoint someone else as acting secretary, as long as all committee records are filed in the office of the Commissioner of Public Lands.

The SCC is required to approve all property acquisitions and disposals in Thurston County, as well as the construction of all state buildings in the county. In 1999, the Legislature directed the SCC and the Legislative Building Renovation Oversight Committee (LBROC) to establish criteria and guidelines for the Legislative building renovation. The joint SCC/LBROC provided this direction and has reviewed and approved several actions since the establishment of the committee with regard to space use in the Legislative building and future rehabilitation of the Pritchard building.

The Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee is comprised of legislators, representatives of statewide offices, the state historical society, and private citizens. The committee was established to: 1) Promote and encourage the recovery and preservation of the original and historic furnishings of several buildings including the Legislative building, the Insurance building, the

Cherberg building, the John L. O'Brien building, the Newhouse building, and the Temple of Justice building; 2) prevent the future loss of historic furnishings; and 3) review and advise future remodeling and restoration projects pertaining to historic furnishings. The committee also has authority to decide whether Capitol campus furnishings over 50 years old are surplus or historic items. The committee's authority does not extend to the placement of any historic furnishings within these buildings.

Summary of Bill:

The composition and size of the SCC is modified. The Lieutenant Governor and the Secretary of State are removed from the SCC. Four legislators are added to the SCC; one from each major caucus of the House of Representatives and the Senate. In addition, the state historic preservation officer is added as a member of the SCC.

The voting members of the SCC are the Governor or the Governor's designee and the four legislative members. The Commissioner of Public Lands and the State Historic Preservation Officer are nonvoting members.

The SCC has sole responsibility for allocating internal space and establishing policy regarding the preservation of the historic character of the interior and furnishings of the Legislative building, the Cherberg building, the John L. O'Brien building, the Newhouse building, and the Pritchard building.

The SCC may appoint ex officio members at its discretion to assist the committee with historical, structural, or architectural considerations related to interior of the buildings under its control, or subject to legislative appropriation, the Committee may contract for such services.

The actions of the Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee must be consistent with the policies established by the SCC.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect immediately.