FINAL BILL REPORT SHB 2908

C 146 L 06

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Modifying the boundary provision for Island county.

Sponsors: By House Committee on Local Government (originally sponsored by Representatives Bailey, Schindler and Strow).

House Committee on Local Government Senate Committee on Government Operations & Elections

Background:

The Oregon Territorial Legislature first created Island County on January 6, 1853. In 1891 the Washington Legislature modified the statute to establish county boundaries for Island County that include the following islands:

- Whidbey;
- Camano;
- Smith's Deception; and
- Ure.

Summary:

The statutory boundary descriptions for Island County are revised to include Strawberry, Baby, Minor, and Kalamut Islands. The description for Smith's Deception is revised to Smith Island and Deception Island, and Ure is renamed to Ben Ure Island.

Votes on Final Passage:

House 98 0 Senate 46 0

Effective: June 7, 2006