Z-0458.1			

## SENATE BILL 5241

2005 Regular Session State of Washington 59th Legislature

By Senators Fraser, Swecker, Rockefeller, Rasmussen, Sheldon and Oke; by request of Board For Judicial Administration

Read first time 01/18/2005. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

- AN ACT Relating to district court judges; amending RCW 3.34.010; 1
- 2 and creating a new section.

10

- BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON: 3
- Sec. 1. RCW 3.34.010 and 2003 c 97 s 1 are each amended to read as 4 5 follows:
- The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall 6
- 7 be: Adams, two; Asotin, one; Benton, three; Chelan, two; Clallam, two;
- 8 Clark, six; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, two; Douglas, one; Ferry, one;
- 9 Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, two; Grays Harbor, two; Island,
- Jefferson, one; King, twenty-one; Kitsap, ((three)) four;
- Kittitas, two; Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; 11
- Okanogan, two; Pacific, two; Pend Oreille, one; Pierce, eleven; San 12
- Juan, one; Skagit, two; Skamania, one; Snohomish, eight; Spokane, ten; 13
- Stevens, one; Thurston, ((two)) three; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, 14
- 15 two; Whatcom, two; Whitman, one; Yakima, four. This number may be
- increased only as provided in RCW 3.34.020. 16
- 17 NEW SECTION. Sec. 2. For the purposes of RCW 3.34.025, the

SB 5241 p. 1

- 1 district judge position for Clark county created in chapter 97, Laws of
- 2 2003, is hereby recreated as of the effective date of this section.

--- END ---

SB 5241 p. 2