## SENATE RESOLUTION 8660

## By Senator Honeyford

WHEREAS, The Sunnyside Christian boys' basketball team, the Knights, demonstrated ultimate teamwork and dedication in the 2004-2005 season deserving of special recognition by the Washington State Legislature; and

WHEREAS, While often undersized when compared to their opponents, the Knights' heart and passion for the game proved to be unmatchable; and

WHEREAS, After sustaining their first and only loss early on in the year, the team went on to win their next twenty-two games; and

WHEREAS, After earning their way to the State B Tournament, the Knights made quick work of their first two opponents beating Tacoma Baptist by thirty points and DeSales by a final score of 54-31; and

WHEREAS, In the semifinal match up against Kings West, the Knights shot an amazing twenty-one for twenty-seven from the line which solidified their 53-41 victory, along with the school's historic third trip to the state championship game; and

WHEREAS, The Knights took on undefeated Willapa Valley for the state title, and after several lead changes throughout the first three quarters, the Knights pulled ahead in the fourth through sheer determination; and

WHEREAS, By a final score of 46-41, the Sunnyside Christian Knights captured their third State B Championship, with the other championships in 1992 and 2002;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize the positive benefits of athletics for young people and honor Coach Dean Wagenaar's pursuit of excellence to that end; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the 2005 Boys' Basketball State B Champions from Sunnyside Christian High School be honored, including: Team members Chad Den Boer, John Bosma, Jon Buescher, Justin Burgers, Aaron Van de Graaf, Derek Van de Graaf, Nick DeJong, Ben Dekker, Matthew Haak, Jordan Haak, Andrew Schutt, and Sean Tudor; assistant coaches Brian and Henry Bosma; statisticians Marc DeJong and Jason Friend; team manager Trevor Wagenaar; and cheerleaders Jamie Durbin, Juliana Erickson, Taylor Gardner, Katie Schneider, Kimber Tucker, Rayann Van Beek, Vanessa Van Boven, Heather Van Wingerden, and Cheer Coach Lori Gardner; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the members and coaches of the 2005 Boys' Basketball State B Champions from Sunnyside Christian High School.