SENATE RESOLUTION 8705

By Senator Schoesler

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The LaCrosse/Washtucna Tigercats exhibited the highest level of excellence in winning the 2005 Washington State High School Football "B-8" Championship; and

WHEREAS, The LaCrosse/Washtucna Football Team became only the second team in the history of Washington state football, in all classifications, to win four consecutive state championships; and

WHEREAS, The LaCrosse/Washtucna Tigercats Football Team State Championship also tied the state record for consecutive victories with forty-eight; and

WHEREAS, The senior class, comprised of Marshall Burke, Kevin Dainty, Tyler Martin, Dallas Filan, Matt Martin, Dirk Wigen, Jeff Bafus, David Oles, Kellen Hays, and Michael Martin, have completed their high school football careers undefeated; and

WHEREAS, The entire team, which includes, in addition to the seniors, Ben Undercoffler, Kellen Vorderbrueggen, Jared Ayers-Stamper, Jake Fleming, Justin Aune, Chris Keeney, Hans Guske, Cody Bennett, Tom Passmore, Seth Weekes, Tyler Startin, Tyson Sullivan, Grant Burke, Jacob Wigen, Tyson Carter, Bo Sullivan, Luke Stanley, Codii Phelps, and Adam Roberts demonstrated amazing skill and admirable sportsmanship in achieving these outstanding accomplishments; and

WHEREAS, These extraordinary accomplishments could not have been achieved without the support and encouragement of all the students, cheerleaders, band members, faculty, staff, alumni, families, friends, community members, and fans who backed them all the way; and

WHEREAS, The inspiring individual and team achievements of the 2005 LaCrosse/Washtucna Football Team will always be remembered when commemorating their winning year; and

WHEREAS, The victorious LaCrosse/Washtucna Football Team is a source of great pride to all the citizens of the state of Washington;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor the 2005 LaCrosse/Washtucna Tigercats Football Team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the 2005 LaCrosse/Washtucna Tigercats Football Team Head Coach Jeff Nelson and the Principal of LaCrosse High School, Doug Curtis, and the Principal of Washtucna High School, Glenn Martin.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8705, adopted by the Senate February 16, 2006

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate