SENATE BILL 5258

State of Washington 60th Legislature 2007 Regular Session

By Senators Regala, Stevens and Shin

Read first time 01/15/2007. Referred to Committee on Human Services & Corrections.

1 AN ACT Relating to the Washington council for the prevention of 2 child abuse and neglect; and amending RCW 43.121.020.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

4 Sec. 1. RCW 43.121.020 and 1996 c 10 s 1 are each amended to read 5 as follows:

6 (1) There is established in the executive office of the governor a 7 Washington council for the prevention of child abuse and neglect 8 subject to the jurisdiction of the governor.

9 (2) The council shall be composed of the chairperson and 10 ((thirteen)) fourteen other members as follows:

(a) The chairperson and six other members shall be appointed by the 11 12 governor and shall be selected for their interest and expertise in the 13 prevention of child abuse. A minimum of four designees by the governor shall not be affiliated with governmental agencies. The appointments 14 15 shall be made on a geographic basis to assure statewide representation. 16 Members appointed by the governor shall serve for three-year terms. 17 Vacancies shall be filled for any unexpired term by appointment in the same manner as the original appointments were made. 18

1 (b) The secretary of social and health services or the secretary's 2 designee, the superintendent of public instruction or the 3 superintendent's designee, <u>the director of the department of early</u> 4 <u>learning or the director's designee</u>, and the secretary of the 5 department of health or the secretary's designee shall serve as voting 6 members of the council.

7 (c) In addition to the members of the council, four members of the 8 legislature shall serve as nonvoting, ex officio members of the 9 council, one from each political caucus of the house of representatives 10 to be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and one 11 from each political caucus of the senate to be appointed by the 12 president of the senate.

--- END ---